Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
20
83
77
34
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rick from United States with 23 ratings

Lots of burnt sugar and vanilla on the nose. The flavor is dry with lots of charred oak and a bitter aftertaste. Very unique taste and unlike any other rum I’ve tasted.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 167 ratings

I like this distillery. I really think this is overrated. Great nose. The kind of nose that gets your hopes up. It is velvety smooth....then “ hey what happened here”?The taste just isn’t there. A little bit of oak and plum, but very little. Disappointing. Not complex. The only thing rare about this is the taste vacuum. I tried it neat and on ice. Both were pretty pedestrian. Finish was also unremarkable and short. I will try it again. Might like it better next time. I can’t see rating this as high as some others have. There are much better Appleton rums out there for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 89 ratings

Aroma of cocoa, fruits, coffee, vanilla and orange peel. Taste is simillar.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

Had this one while I was in Jamaica and had to bring a bottle home with me!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

Fermentation: 36 hours
Distillation: Pot and column stil
Casks: Ex-Bourbon-cask

When I opened a new bottle the nose reminds me a little bit of Clarendon rum, there are some typical plants with citrus.
But after some minutes they got weaker. Still a good and balanced nose. Quite intensive with 43%, it was a very good decision from the masterblender, I would prefer around 50% I think.
Except the nose there is not much flavors that reminds me of Jamaica rums.
It's not funky, I can't smell any esters. If you think this is funky try a Hampden or a Savanna HERR first.
The taste is not that complex but very pleasant. There are a lot of dry fruits, could also be a rum from Venezuela. A part of it reminds me also of Barbados rum (Mount Gay). In the middle there are not that many flavors and the initial taste is a little bit weak.
It's a good 8, I like this new version but there is still not enough intensity for a 9.
Great value for just 20€. Very enjoyable and natural rum. My recommendation.

Nose: dry fruits, plants, some citrus (sour note), caramel, earth, some floral notes, molasses, orange peels in the background, some oak, this is not a funky nose
Taste initial: dry fruits with some caramel but not very sweet, plants and citrus
Middle: orange peels, oak, burned sugar
Finish (middle long): spice, some earth/barrel, oak, orange again
Aftertaste: oragen and oak, after 5min sour apple

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Compexity: 3/5
Intensity: 3/5
Value (20€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Clint Oosterbos from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Niet te zoete rum die prima puur te drinken is. Niet duur voor de kwaliteit.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 47 ratings

This is a simple Jamaican rum. Nice introductory rum as well. Not too sweet. But sweeter than other rums from Barbados. It is smooth, however I cannot drink this one neat. I prefer this in a rum old fashioned omitting simple syrup. Has a bit of bite at the end as well.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Kalli from Portugal with 2 ratings

Very nice and smooth rum. Has a distinctive flavor and goes nice into scuba libre

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 34 ratings

Enjoyable on its own or with your favorite mix. Highly recommend!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 40 ratings

Well balanced, expected smoother for a 12 year old, but definitely great for mixing

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Limsn from Poland with 14 ratings

Very enjoyable meeting with a real 12 yo. I strongly recommend for sipping, however at the moment I slightly prefer Mount Gay XO.