Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (213 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
19
80
70
29
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


213 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

I tried a sip. Fantastic. I mixed it with a little. Delicious. Really nice at this price level.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

This is the 12yo Extra rebranded. While I haven't tasted side by side, I believe it is the same blend and equally as good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Patrick from Canada with 30 ratings

It isn't as smooth as I thought it would be. The flavours are really nice.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

You know what, I could sip on this rum for a while. It has a great Carmel and molasses nose, and the taste is mild with a little character. Little too tart for me, but not obnoxious. Have a try, but there are better between 10-15 years old

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 124 ratings

I like this distillery. I really think this is overrated. Great nose. The kind of nose that gets your hopes up. It is velvety smooth....then “ hey what happened here”?The taste just isn’t there. A little bit of oak and plum, but very little. Disappointing. Not complex. The only thing rare about this is the taste vacuum. I tried it neat and on ice. Both were pretty pedestrian. Finish was also unremarkable and short. I will try it again. Might like it better next time. I can’t see rating this as high as some others have. There are much better Appleton rums out there for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Aroma of cocoa, fruits, coffee, vanilla and orange peel. Taste is simillar.

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

Had this one while I was in Jamaica and had to bring a bottle home with me!

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 182 ratings

Fermentation: 36 hours
Distillation: Pot and column stil
Casks: Ex-Bourbon-cask

When I opened a new bottle the nose reminds me a little bit of Clarendon rum, there are some typical plants with citrus.
But after some minutes they got weaker. Still a good and balanced nose. Quite intensive with 43%, it was a very good decision from the masterblender, I would prefer around 50% I think.
Except the nose there is not much flavors that reminds me of Jamaica rums.
It's not funky, I can't smell any esters. If you think this is funky try a Hampden or a Savanna HERR first.
The taste is not that complex but very pleasant. There are a lot of dry fruits, could also be a rum from Venezuela. A part of it reminds me also of Barbados rum (Mount Gay). In the middle there are not that many flavors and the initial taste is a little bit weak.
It's a good 8, I like this new version but there is still not enough intensity for a 9.
Great value for just 20€. Very enjoyable and natural rum. My recommendation.

Nose: dry fruits, plants, some citrus (sour note), caramel, earth, some floral notes, molasses, orange peels in the background, some oak, this is not a funky nose
Taste initial: dry fruits with some caramel but not very sweet, plants and citrus
Middle: orange peels, oak, burned sugar
Finish (middle long): spice, some earth/barrel, oak, orange again
Aftertaste: oragen and oak, after 5min sour apple

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Compexity: 3/5
Intensity: 3/5
Value (20€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Clint Oosterbos from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Niet te zoete rum die prima puur te drinken is. Niet duur voor de kwaliteit.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 31 ratings

This is a simple Jamaican rum. Nice introductory rum as well. Not too sweet. But sweeter than other rums from Barbados. It is smooth, however I cannot drink this one neat. I prefer this in a rum old fashioned omitting simple syrup. Has a bit of bite at the end as well.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Kalli from Portugal with 2 ratings

Very nice and smooth rum. Has a distinctive flavor and goes nice into scuba libre