Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
20
83
77
34
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Bought this with some vouchers i had and for £38 it’s not that great. Quite rough on the palate and with some slight burn. It’s ok but not great.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Well balanced, not sweet. What I expect from an Jamaica-rum...I like it

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

The best for the price for me. Very spicy and smooth. This is a hit in a rum industry.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by RichPotter from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Not as smooth as some sipping rums and it wouldn't be my first choice but still a reasonable selection.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 24 ratings

This rum reviews much better than it tastes...for me. I'm still pretty new to aged rums, so maybe my pallet is just still immature. However, I'll have this bottle in my collection for a while. Maybe I'll have an updated review with a better opinion before this bottle is gone. As always, I prefer my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by C. F. from United States with 28 ratings

Solid blended rum. Nothing special but nothing bad. Pleasant from nose to throat.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 165 ratings

It’s together with Chairman’s Reserve and the 5 year old English Harbour my best every day rums by moment.
Th balance is good, it’s fruity and spicy and you can taste the barrel.
Picture: My Appleton shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

I went to my neighborhood grocery store to pick up my old favorite Appleton V/X, which I have been drinking from time to time for the past 25 years or so. All they had was the Signature Blend with no age statement or this one. I would not have been pleased with the cheaper one, so I bought this one, which happened to also be on my wish list.

Others have noted a strange funky aftertaste, which is characteristic of Jamaican rums. At first, it was good sipped neat, but nothing to write home about. An ice cube increased the complex flavors, but also the funky aftertaste. This bottle won't go to waste, but I will always stick with their V/X aged between 5-10 years. This one appears to be the victim of being "too long in the wood". This also proves that if it works, don't fix it.

Update 12 days later: I have a love/hate relationship with this totally unique rum. No other rum can even be compared to it. After all these years, other reviewers have finally inspired me to look up the terms "dunder" and "esters", which is what makes Jamaican rums unique. You will have to look those up yourself because that process sounds pretty gross and probably began centuries ago out of economic need instead of adding unique flavors. For those that don't know what Jamaican funky rum tastes like, I would best describe it as mud being mixed with the sugar cane that was distilled to make this rum.

Since my favorite V/X appears to have been discontinued, I may not be buying any more rum from Appleton. Then again, somewhere down the line I may miss this funky one and buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jd from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Take this one Just before you take a 21 appleton estate. Very Nice flavours comes out after 12 years. One of the best appleton makes
Thank you 😃

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 62 ratings

Très bon rhum, mais présence un peut trop forte d'alcool en finale. Le El Dorado 12 ans est meilleur, plus complexe, plus riche, un peu plus nuancé.

Very good rum, but a strong presence of alcohol in the finale. The El Dorado 12 years is better, more complex, richer, a little more nuanced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

This is the 12yo Extra rebranded. While I haven't tasted side by side, I believe it is the same blend and equally as good.