Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (216 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
19
79
73
30
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


216 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

I tried a sip. Fantastic. I mixed it with a little. Delicious. Really nice at this price level.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 51 ratings

'What do Jamaicans know about aged and blended rums?' (I thought to myself jokingly)....A whole freaking lot it turns out. Wow! This is very nice. Appleton 12 year Rare Blend is everything I had wanted MGXO to be. The thing that is so remarkable about this rum is just how damn sippable it is. I can't quite bring myself to give it a 9, but it is easily a high 8 at minimum. The aftertaste is simply delightful. So lets dive in...

The nose is overripe bananas, apples, caramel, a pungent floral bouquet, and sour apple hard
candies. Its got a nice pungency to it like sticking your nose in a flower bouquet. Once you take a sip you get immediate oak that quickly dissipates into caramelized apples and light but present fermentation packaged in a chocolatey smoothness akin to french liqueur chocolates. Think that is interesting? Well it gets better. The velvety chocolate rum taste fades into a chest warmth with grilled pineapple and nutmeg that lingers for a long time and entices you to start the cycle all over again. At every part there is a very pleasant funkiness lingering in the background, kind of like fruit in a pitcher of sangria. I will definitely be keeping this one around. This is very nice for a change of pace.

*Update* I am bumping this to a 9. On the second go around after every sip I kept muttering "damn!" to myself out of sheer relaxed enjoyment. This rum has a marvelous aftertaste and a great smoothness to it despite no added sugar and only being aged for 12 years.

Nose: 8
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 8
Price: 9

Total: 9

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Pistolarull97 from Romania with 1 rating

The smell is nice, but the taste not so great. It's bitter at the beginning and the finish is like a plastic aroma. It works only with coke for me. I recommend El Dorado 15. A little bit more expensive, but it's very tasteful.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Saint Gibson from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Deep, thick, pleasantely woody, dry(ish), properly aged, with pleasant, long finish and you can clearly taste and feel it. Basically everything you need from a rum, and for the price this Appleton Estate can bebarely beaten by anyone else (depends on your area, but I only think of RL Seals to compare for you coin). If you want to know more about AE 12 RB, Ralphy made a review and pretty much nailed it, but you better go and grab a bottle for yourself, take some time, certainly give it a rest and oxidize, and then enjoy it neat (and only neat! for those who mix such rums with anything else there is a special room in hell with giant wobbling dildos). Note: this rum needs to breathe more before tasting, and while the bottle goes down, it becomes better and better and better, and you will definitely feel it, just mark my words lads. Anyway, I highly recommend this for anyone who like scotch. Properly aged, pot still, dry(ish) rum for such price? Exelent and almost perfect.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Sbilmer from Canada with 11 ratings

Delightful sipper - currently my favourite with rich molasses and complex sweetness. Perfect night cap when my wife is drinking Scotch

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Well balanced, not sweet. What I expect from an Jamaica-rum...I like it

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

The best for the price for me. Very spicy and smooth. This is a hit in a rum industry.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by RichPotter from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Not as smooth as some sipping rums and it wouldn't be my first choice but still a reasonable selection.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by jamesshaffer from United States with 24 ratings

This rum reviews much better than it tastes...for me. I'm still pretty new to aged rums, so maybe my pallet is just still immature. However, I'll have this bottle in my collection for a while. Maybe I'll have an updated review with a better opinion before this bottle is gone. As always, I prefer my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by C. F. from United States with 29 ratings

Solid blended rum. Nothing special but nothing bad. Pleasant from nose to throat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I went to my neighborhood grocery store to pick up my old favorite Appleton V/X, which I have been drinking from time to time for the past 25 years or so. All they had was the Signature Blend with no age statement or this one. I would not have been pleased with the cheaper one, so I bought this one, which happened to also be on my wish list.

Others have noted a strange funky aftertaste, which is characteristic of Jamaican rums. At first, it was good sipped neat, but nothing to write home about. An ice cube increased the complex flavors, but also the funky aftertaste. This bottle won't go to waste, but I will always stick with their V/X aged between 5-10 years. This one appears to be the victim of being "too long in the wood". This also proves that if it works, don't fix it.

Update 12 days later: I have a love/hate relationship with this totally unique rum. No other rum can even be compared to it. After all these years, other reviewers have finally inspired me to look up the terms "dunder" and "esters", which is what makes Jamaican rums unique. You will have to look those up yourself because that process sounds pretty gross and probably began centuries ago out of economic need instead of adding unique flavors. For those that don't know what Jamaican funky rum tastes like, I would best describe it as mud being mixed with the sugar cane that was distilled to make this rum.

Since my favorite V/X appears to have been discontinued, I may not be buying any more rum from Appleton. Then again, somewhere down the line I may miss this funky one and buy it again.