Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10
256 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
22
95
86
36
4

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

256 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by rišo from Slovakia with 41 ratings

very tasty and good smelling...like it..due to its strenght (43%) still smooth..

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 80 ratings

In their 'Estate Blend', which is more interesting than great, I found some qualities that needed more research so here I am, with a glass of their 12yo 'Rare Blend'. It is not typical Jamaican in the sense that it is relative low on esters; it is much closer to St. Lucia's 'Chairmans Reserve' or Mount Gay's XO as far as pot still influence goes.
I am halfway my second bottle and it still surprises me but I can tell for sure this rum has gotten it's own altar overhere.

It is a dark blend with murky flavours and a little rough around the edges. Apart from the usual suspects (vanilla, oak, fudge and various fruity flavors) it has dark tobacco, smokey and leathery notes and a very pleasant oaky kind of finish. The strange thing is that for me its closest competitor is Mount Gay's XO which is also a darker, murkier kind of rum. The 'Rare Blend' is slightly rougher and darker and , at least for me, delivers more. So I accept the lower price, the simpler screwcap and simply accept that this affordable rum is in truth a stunning expression of a not that easy rum. It needs a bit of an acquired taste but if you are into dry rums and you like a bit of roughness in your rum this is a must try! A keeper for sure!

Small pirate

Posted 7 months ago by svarszegi from Hungary with 19 ratings

This a truly great sipping rum. I only drink it neat, no ice. The smoky-sweet, yet manly aroma will make you love it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 27 ratings

Notes of ripe banana and some vanilla on the nose. Smells sweeter than it tastes on the palate (which I so not mean as criticism). Nice taste with some some tobacco-ish overtones, has some alcoholic burn stronger than, say, an El Dorado or a Diplo.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

I bought a bottle of this for my birthday as i saw it in Tesco on sale for £30 so thought i would give it a shot without knowing much about it. I normally enjoy any rum anyway so didn't mind the risk of a blind buy. The flavour in the initial mouthful is fairly good but the finish when you swallow is quite incredible! I am not an expert in notes and flavours etc so i do not know what this is but damn, does it taste good! It is not that sweet and has a nice dry oaky taste and is practically a glass of heaven when a single ice cube is added. I have tried about 20 rums now and at the time of writing, this remains in my top 3 due to that fantastic finish. I definitely want to try some of that Joy anniversary blend!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

No Sugar added; great nose/taste, very fruity - that's rum for me. Price is awesome for this Jamaican Perfection. Cool Man ;)

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

It’s together with Chairman’s Reserve and the 5 year old English Harbour my best every day rums by moment.
Th balance is good, it’s fruity and spicy and you can taste the barrel.
Picture: My Appleton shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Seb from Canada with 40 ratings

Not bad, smooth, but not as much depth as my favourite El dorados

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

The funk is there, but 12 years have taken the edge off and left a very smooth, well-rounded versatile product. It's not often I reach for a funky rum, they are generally not my favorite, but this is the one I go for and it does everything well. SUPERIOR mixer.

sugar test- 0

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by rumtrinker from Germany with 27 ratings

There is little or no added sugar in this. And they bottle at 43% ABV, even in Germany, where 40% is the norm for spirits (and where rum can go as low as 37,5%). That alone is a reason to like this stuff.
But it does not stop there, oh no. At a very reasonable price, you get a rum that was aged 12 years. No solera bullshit, no "oldest rum" bullshit, just solid 12 years. And that is great, as it shows in the taste.

In the nose you get funk, wood (12 years!), molasses, spice, heat, and just a little bit of alcoholic bite, which fits perfectly in. This is not a smooth rum, and it should not be. If you are afraid of slightly rough rums, add 10-30% of water, that will help you out.
Mouth-feel is sharp at first, but then becomes very pleasant, as the dundery funk kicks in and begins to tickle the tongue with hints of over-ripe fruits, dark dried fruits, mud, molasses, a hint of sweetness, something remotely smokey (BBQ sauce is close, I would say) and some vegetal notes. Something grassy is also to be found. And a lot that I find hard to put into words. Wonderfully complex.
Could be double the price and people would be more poetic about it. Not sure if I would buy it at double the price, but currently it is a bargain in comparison to other rums.

While it is funky, it is also relatively well-behaved. I think that everyone who is not afraid of some flavour in their (dry!) rum, will like this.

Small 8f16dbbd 100a 4b64 b3d5 68727828d3f4

Posted 3 months ago by Kabi4 from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Wow.... so nice color ... and bottle as well... unbelievable smell....bitter in the end... i was lucky and bought 0.7 for 18€ 👍😉