Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


196 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7e14f4e834014ce3face114bec89f233.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

I tried a sip. Fantastic. I mixed it with a little. Delicious. Really nice at this price level.

B7ec0e5bb03566efbcafad32daa13067.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 22 ratings

Notes of ripe banana and some vanilla on the nose. Smells sweeter than it tastes on the palate (which I so not mean as criticism). Nice taste with some some tobacco-ish overtones, has some alcoholic burn stronger than, say, an El Dorado or a Diplo.

9bd95cd7fd6531856e4abcdd86ca1edd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I bought a bottle of this for my birthday as i saw it in Tesco on sale for £30 so thought i would give it a shot without knowing much about it. I normally enjoy any rum anyway so didn't mind the risk of a blind buy. The flavour in the initial mouthful is fairly good but the finish when you swallow is quite incredible! I am not an expert in notes and flavours etc so i do not know what this is but damn, does it taste good! It is not that sweet and has a nice dry oaky taste and is practically a glass of heaven when a single ice cube is added. I have tried about 20 rums now and at the time of writing, this remains in my top 3 due to that fantastic finish. I definitely want to try some of that Joy anniversary blend!!

8760735bc9ae11b6859ee1302bb8ae9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

No Sugar added; great nose/taste, very fruity - that's rum for me. Price is awesome for this Jamaican Perfection. Cool Man ;)

B86a7867b7bdb9e734926ce89a884dbc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 36 ratings

Not bad, smooth, but not as much depth as my favourite El dorados

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

The funk is there, but 12 years have taken the edge off and left a very smooth, well-rounded versatile product. It's not often I reach for a funky rum, they are generally not my favorite, but this is the one I go for and it does everything well. SUPERIOR mixer.

sugar test- 0

D1562cce3dcd3a48a7e140be63ce3957.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Pistolarull97 from Romania with 1 rating

The smell is nice, but the taste not so great. It's bitter at the beginning and the finish is like a plastic aroma. It works only with coke for me. I recommend El Dorado 15. A little bit more expensive, but it's very tasteful.

C510938246ae3ae4698c7280759ba290.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Saint Gibson from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Deep, thick, pleasantely woody, dry(ish), properly aged, with pleasant, long finish and you can clearly taste and feel it. Basically everything you need from a rum, and for the price this Appleton Estate can bebarely beaten by anyone else (depends on your area, but I only think of RL Seals to compare for you coin). If you want to know more about AE 12 RB, Ralphy made a review and pretty much nailed it, but you better go and grab a bottle for yourself, take some time, certainly give it a rest and oxidize, and then enjoy it neat (and only neat! for those who mix such rums with anything else there is a special room in hell with giant wobbling dildos). Note: this rum needs to breathe more before tasting, and while the bottle goes down, it becomes better and better and better, and you will definitely feel it, just mark my words lads. Anyway, I highly recommend this for anyone who like scotch. Properly aged, pot still, dry(ish) rum for such price? Exelent and almost perfect.

D156a8b7c1b7edb83784961423bd72d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Sbilmer from Canada with 11 ratings

Delightful sipper - currently my favourite with rich molasses and complex sweetness. Perfect night cap when my wife is drinking Scotch

Afe6c6ba2df76139176dca5a85e21c45.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Well balanced, not sweet. What I expect from an Jamaica-rum...I like it

4a1a3e9a103cfa1f2c1329ed5ef864f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

The best for the price for me. Very spicy and smooth. This is a hit in a rum industry.