Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (227 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
20
82
76
34
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


227 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rick from United States with 23 ratings

Lots of burnt sugar and vanilla on the nose. The flavor is dry with lots of charred oak and a bitter aftertaste. Very unique taste and unlike any other rum I’ve tasted.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by svarszegi from Hungary with 13 ratings

This a truly great sipping rum. I only drink it neat, no ice. The smoky-sweet, yet manly aroma will make you love it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

'What do Jamaicans know about aged and blended rums?' (I thought to myself jokingly)....A whole freaking lot it turns out. Wow! This is very nice. Appleton 12 year Rare Blend is everything I had wanted MGXO to be. The thing that is so remarkable about this rum is just how damn sippable it is. I can't quite bring myself to give it a 9, but it is easily a high 8 at minimum. The aftertaste is simply delightful. So lets dive in...

The nose is overripe bananas, apples, caramel, a pungent floral bouquet, and sour apple hard
candies. Its got a nice pungency to it like sticking your nose in a flower bouquet. Once you take a sip you get immediate oak that quickly dissipates into caramelized apples and light but present fermentation packaged in a chocolatey smoothness akin to french liqueur chocolates. Think that is interesting? Well it gets better. The velvety chocolate rum taste fades into a chest warmth with grilled pineapple and nutmeg that lingers for a long time and entices you to start the cycle all over again. At every part there is a very pleasant funkiness lingering in the background, kind of like fruit in a pitcher of sangria. I will definitely be keeping this one around. This is very nice for a change of pace.

*Update* I am bumping this to a 9. On the second go around after every sip I kept muttering "damn!" to myself out of sheer relaxed enjoyment. This rum has a marvelous aftertaste and a great smoothness to it despite no added sugar and only being aged for 12 years.

Nose: 8
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 8
Price: 9

Total: 9

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Notes of ripe banana and some vanilla on the nose. Smells sweeter than it tastes on the palate (which I so not mean as criticism). Nice taste with some some tobacco-ish overtones, has some alcoholic burn stronger than, say, an El Dorado or a Diplo.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

I bought a bottle of this for my birthday as i saw it in Tesco on sale for £30 so thought i would give it a shot without knowing much about it. I normally enjoy any rum anyway so didn't mind the risk of a blind buy. The flavour in the initial mouthful is fairly good but the finish when you swallow is quite incredible! I am not an expert in notes and flavours etc so i do not know what this is but damn, does it taste good! It is not that sweet and has a nice dry oaky taste and is practically a glass of heaven when a single ice cube is added. I have tried about 20 rums now and at the time of writing, this remains in my top 3 due to that fantastic finish. I definitely want to try some of that Joy anniversary blend!!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

No Sugar added; great nose/taste, very fruity - that's rum for me. Price is awesome for this Jamaican Perfection. Cool Man ;)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 39 ratings

Not bad, smooth, but not as much depth as my favourite El dorados

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The funk is there, but 12 years have taken the edge off and left a very smooth, well-rounded versatile product. It's not often I reach for a funky rum, they are generally not my favorite, but this is the one I go for and it does everything well. SUPERIOR mixer.

sugar test- 0

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Pure_Taste from Denmark with 6 ratings

I like rums that are not over-sugared. Since Jamaica does not allow to sweetening rums, this is a nice sipping rum for purists. Fully recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by L.e.d from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

Parádní suchý, nedoslazovaný rum.
Vůně je hodně dřevitá, možná sudy po whiskey. Po dlouhém zkoušení a hledání jsem objevil lehké tóny vanilky a čokolády.
Chuť podle mě odpovídá vůni. Silně je tu cítit sud a i podle chuti bych tipoval whiskey. Přidala se chuť medu a vanilky a čokoláda mi zmizela...
Dojezd je pěkně dlouhý...

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

In their 'Estate Blend', which is more interesting than great, I found some qualities that needed more research so here I am, with a glass of their 12yo 'Rare Blend'. It is not typical Jamaican in the sense that it is relative low on esters; it is much closer to St. Lucia's 'Chairmans Reserve' or Mount Gay's XO as far as pot still influence goes.
I am halfway my second bottle and it still surprises me but I can tell for sure this rum has gotten it's own altar overhere.

It is a dark blend with murky flavours and a little rough around the edges. Apart from the usual suspects (vanilla, oak, fudge and various fruity flavors) it has dark tobacco, smokey and leathery notes and a very pleasant oaky kind of finish. The strange thing is that for me its closest competitor is Mount Gay's XO which is also a darker, murkier kind of rum. The 'Rare Blend' is slightly rougher and darker and , at least for me, delivers more. So I accept the lower price, the simpler screwcap and simply accept that this affordable rum is in truth a stunning expression of a not that easy rum. It needs a bit of an acquired taste but if you are into dry rums and you like a bit of roughness in your rum this is a must try! A keeper for sure!