Posting your rating...
Duran 12-Year rum

Rate Duran 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Duran 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by rummasterpty from Panama with 7 ratings

When I read the aging process was in bourbon barrels, I had to try it. I was expecting something different and it did not dissapoint me. The flavour is very unique, not your everyday rum. The notes were clear but soft, typical of Don Pancho, the master blender behind it.

The rum had long lasting buttery and vainilla notes and surprisingly no alcohol burn. You can tell it is strong after your first drink. Hard to tell by the its taste or smell that it is a 40% alcohol rum because it goes down so smothly. Would definitely recommend it especially if you like both wishkey and rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

I don't know the history behind the production of Rum Duran and got to try it in an event without any expectations.
Nose is dry without any particular aromas other than alcohol. Having already experienced that with very good rums I was still optimistic but the mouth was a total disappointment, dryness only, a tiny bit of anise and toffee but not in a nice way.

Posted over 4 years ago by lorenzo valdes from Panama with 1 rating

Aromas of buttery wet oak, cola nut and pistachio lead to creamy dry vanilla, orange blossom, dried fruits and toffee before a subtle hint of anise. On the palate, a well balanced coconut husk entry walks a fine line between sweet and dry as it cascades through cream soda, dark fruit, custard, toasted oak and coconut husk before dry toasted wood with hints of anise.

Posted 4 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

There is almost no nose to this rum. Then again, that is what happens to opponents of legendary prize fighter Roberto Duran from Panama, who this rum is dedicated to. I am not a fan of prize fighting and the only way that I even know about him is from a song by one of my favorite musicians, Paul Thorn. The song is called, "I Would Rather Be A Hammer Than A Nail". Paul Thorn used to be a prize fighter and actually fought Roberto Duran. After he lost. the song title is what Roberto Duran told him. What a legendary phrase!!!

At any rate, as one never being driven by such gimmicks to sell, what convinced me to try this rum is that the legendary Don Pancho created it. It is aged 12 years in white oak barrels. With no nose at all, my first impression was WTF!!!! Well, just like this rum's namesake, never underestimate it. The very smooth and complex taste of this rum far outweighs it's lack of nose. At only $28, I consider this to be a real bargain! I will let another reviewer do the tasting notes.

Posted 10 months ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This came very close to a 9 in my book, but just not quite. It is different and I can see some ratings can be lower for this reasons. I wish I knew more about it an whether or not is has added sugar or flavorings. I would probably bump it to a nice if I knew it did not. I have nothing against adding versus non-adding, but think it should be clear on the website or marketing or labeling. Try it, enjoy it! I will be buying again. At this price point, it's hard to find many better (except the Doorly's line-up . . . YUM!).

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

A 5.5 on my scale. Sweet flavor when first sips. More afterburn than I would prefer. Mixed with a splash of coke is okay, nothing special.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed 2 glasses of Ron Duran 12 year old rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design look nice and old school. Dark brown color. Very smooth flavor profile for a Panamanian rum. Mild burn at the end. Very nice surprise indeed.

Posted over 2 years ago by Javier FK from Peru with 30 ratings

Ron panameño como mano de piedra Roberto Durán, famoso boxeador panameño y de allí el puño y firma en la etiqueta.
Ron seco alcohólico desde el comienzo pero agradable después del tercer sorbo. Olores a madera y sabores frutales agradables.

Posted over 3 years ago by joe rum from United States with 2 ratings

I've been drinking rum for many years and tasted every rum you can imagine. Ron Duran is one of the best 12 year old rums I have tasted. Very delicate and dry, but with full body. Flowery bouquet with bourbon undertones and buttery texture. It encompasses everything you want from a fine rum. Definitely worth a try!!

Posted about 4 years ago by luis bantan from Spain with 1 rating

This rum is the epiphany of what real quality rums are supposed to be like. It's not like rums that are too sweet and full of syrups so they look darker in color and have more artificial caramel notes like Zacapa. This is a genuine aged rum for 12 years made by the top master blender of the world, Don Pancho Fernandez.

"Aromas of oak, kola nut, a pistachio with creamy vanilla , orange blossom , nuts and caramel , finished with a subtle hint of anise. On the palate input coconut shell well balanced walks a fine line between sweet and dry wood with cream soda waterfalls , black fruit , custard , toasted oak and coconut shell . Through a long finish , the palate is well balanced.

Posted about 4 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

Nice rum pretty smooth lots of vanilla notes on this one. Yet a little to dry for my taste.