Posting your rating...
Cockspur VSOR 12-Year rum

Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.9/10 (69 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
2
14
20
22
5

Rate Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


69 Cockspur VSOR 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Boutique-rhum.com from France with 25 ratings

On the rocks / with ginger ale

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

I'm a dedicated fan of the bajan style. Not only because of the general taste, but also because it's often priced very reasonable and unless the rum is bottled by independent houses, it's sugar and aditiv free. The cockspur 12 carries many of the classic bajan traits. Your nostrils fills with coconut, vanilla and caramel, while retaining a frehness. On the tounge it's naturally semisweet with a bit of dark chocolate, tobaco, spices and perhaps a smidge of peach. It's not particularly refined and the finish is kinda short, but considering the price, that's all fair. It's absolutely sippable, but I would probably use it as a primium mixer. It's a good rum in the range but when it comes to value for money, you dont need to pay much more to get fx. the excellent Dorly's 12 fx.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

This is a great gateway rum. This is ideal to share with someone who's interested in learning rum. An easy and pleasant sipper. It's missing something, though. I'd never not drink this rum, but I probably won't buy it again. If Rum did a better job of marketing itself as something to be thought of like we think of whiskey, rather than a party mixer, this rum would become very popular.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

I am actually very surprised at how good this stuff is. In the glass it seems basic as any other rum, vanilla oak and the cask. Taking it straight is surprisingly good, very very smooth, almost made me doubt its 80 proof! Initially you're gonna get hit with a vanilla cask taste followed in with an earthy smokey taste. The flavor then bottoms out and changes to a Cinnamon/allspice flavor with sweetness in the back. My only desire with this rum is I wish it was bolder! It has all these great flavors and abilities but it is SO tame. if you pour this in cola most of it's flavors (except the cinnamon/allspice flavor) come out. Make it BOLDER! Get some gonads!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by royce from United States with 5 ratings

With my somewhat limited sampling of aged rums (10-15), I'm beginning to think there are two main categories, smokey and sweet. I would put this one on the smokey side, just barely. it has a good balance of a light sweetness and a little smoke for a great flavor. It's also pretty smooth and has more flavor neat than on the rocks. The price is pretty nice too.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Slightly dry, a nice fruit taste, a bit medicinal at first, but that quickly fades.
It obviously is from Barbados, so if you like other Barbadian rums, you know what to expect. Good stuff! For those that love Mt Gay XO, this is very similar.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

This is as Bajan as they come. Light, fruity, medium bodied and flawless. On the nose there is, apart from the usual suspects (vanilla, fudge and oak) a similer accidity as in their Cockspur 5 stars rum. Though I got sour berries in the last one, the accidity in the "12" is more like baked pinapple with something I can't get pinned down. It is a rather easy and light rum, not very complex but certainly more interesting than the (also nice) "5 stars".

There is but one problem and that is the price overhere; I could get this bottle with a nice discount but normally it is priced similar to R.L. Seale's 10yo and Mount Gay XO and there is no way this Cockspur comes even close in terms of depth and complexity. So a really nice rum that is (easily) surpassed by other Bajan rums in the same price-range.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 205 ratings

I will always have a soft spot for Cockspur after my surfing adventures in Barbados in the late 70’s early 80’s. But with that said Cockspur has not held up with Mt Gay and Doorly’s (now four square). The 12 was ok but Ron Abuelo 12 from Panama is much better as is Doorly’s 12 and Mt Gay XO. I wanted to love it but not worth my money.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jday0001 (PREMIUM) from United States with 15 ratings

Nice warm aroma. Coconut with vanilla, cinnamon, allspice. A little medicinal tasting at first, but it fades into a slightly bitter chocolate and possibly, tobacco. The burn is fairly short. I'll probably use it as a premium mixer.

I found these in an Oregon liquor store at $10 for a 750ml bottle. I bought six. Holiday gift buying for friends is done!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

The nose is very nice tropical fruits mix, with pronounced coconut, the body is light, sweet, but without any sugar added, full of tropical fruits, some toffee, playful and sexy composition. For this price, and someone who loves Bajan style - this is a must-have. Very good sipper, I guess it would make a nice mixed drink too - but the bottle disappeared too quickly, maybe next time.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 29 ratings

We've been spoiled by Doorly's. This is a nice rum. Pleasant aroma, caramel?. Smooth, but not distinct in flavor. Works well as mixer. Neat can work, but leaves more to be desired. Good Bajan rum