Posting your rating...
Cockspur VSOR 12-Year rum

Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.9/10 (63 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
2
13
16
21
5

Rate Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


63 Cockspur VSOR 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a great rum from Barbados. Huge flavor here. This is fantastic. Well worth the cost. My only issue was a broken natural cork when opening. If you like loud flavored rum with a strong start to finish this is it.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

I'm a dedicated fan of the bajan style. Not only because of the general taste, but also because it's often priced very reasonable and unless the rum is bottled by independent houses, it's sugar and aditiv free. The cockspur 12 carries many of the classic bajan traits. Your nostrils fills with coconut, vanilla and caramel, while retaining a frehness. On the tounge it's naturally semisweet with a bit of dark chocolate, tobaco, spices and perhaps a smidge of peach. It's not particularly refined and the finish is kinda short, but considering the price, that's all fair. It's absolutely sippable, but I would probably use it as a primium mixer. It's a good rum in the range but when it comes to value for money, you dont need to pay much more to get fx. the excellent Dorly's 12 fx.

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

I am actually very surprised at how good this stuff is. In the glass it seems basic as any other rum, vanilla oak and the cask. Taking it straight is surprisingly good, very very smooth, almost made me doubt its 80 proof! Initially you're gonna get hit with a vanilla cask taste followed in with an earthy smokey taste. The flavor then bottoms out and changes to a Cinnamon/allspice flavor with sweetness in the back. My only desire with this rum is I wish it was bolder! It has all these great flavors and abilities but it is SO tame. if you pour this in cola most of it's flavors (except the cinnamon/allspice flavor) come out. Make it BOLDER! Get some gonads!

D00651110f62c2da624ac9b38cbaa789.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by royce from United States with 5 ratings

With my somewhat limited sampling of aged rums (10-15), I'm beginning to think there are two main categories, smokey and sweet. I would put this one on the smokey side, just barely. it has a good balance of a light sweetness and a little smoke for a great flavor. It's also pretty smooth and has more flavor neat than on the rocks. The price is pretty nice too.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Slightly dry, a nice fruit taste, a bit medicinal at first, but that quickly fades.
It obviously is from Barbados, so if you like other Barbadian rums, you know what to expect. Good stuff! For those that love Mt Gay XO, this is very similar.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Bought this stuff at the source. Very surprised, i went into it half hearted but was pleasantly astonished at how good it was for the price. This is a full bodied rum, not sweet or tampered with in any fashion. I would recommend it neat or with a rock. Enjoy you sum uh dis.... Tasty stuff..

743c43b8811433009491c4776775a4a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Pro mě excelentní vůně, poté co jsem ochutnal přes 80 druhů rumu začínám oceňovat výš ty bez cukru, díky kterého se kryjí neduhy, podobně jako u vína. Jen proto, že mi MountGay XO chutná o něco více a dostal 9 bodů, dávám Cockspuru 8+. Snad jen o chvilku déle v sudu a byla by alkoholová stopa jemnější. Což mu tady vytýkají ti co mají raději sirupy. Ztratil by ale svůj úžasný charakter nedoslazovaného rumu. Výborný rum za skvělé peníze.

Eccd0987c5ad79396af1844ce967312b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 23 ratings

I kinda dig this! Coming from the world of bourbon I feel this one makes that whiskey to rum transition really nice. Shares some of the same characteristics on the nose/palate of wheater. Very dry. One thing notably present here... OAK! I prefer higher proof spirits but 40% ABV isn't bad sipping neat. Going to mix this one in blind with a Larceny and Weller SR to see who can win "One Of These Things Is Not Like The Others".

1fa52fc70d4601547df4870b2e60c52b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Just does not have the balance of other aged bajan rums. Doorleys is a better option imo. more available in the states for a reasonable price.

22bdcbc8af23ccd2b91ceb1a57f9eeb5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 81 ratings

...totally fine, yet nothing memorable.

It smells fresh, but the taste on the other hand does not convince for another bottle.

Try it as a premium mixer

6.0 to a 6.25

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Oddly chemical note in the overall taste. No additives, but...it isn't the finest out there.