Posting your rating...
Cockspur VSOR 12-Year rum

Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.9/10 (69 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
2
14
19
23
5

Rate Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

69 Cockspur VSOR 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 31 ratings

Just does not have the balance of other aged bajan rums. Doorleys is a better option imo. more available in the states for a reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

https://rumtips.cz/recenze/cockspur-12-tajemny-kohout-z-barbadosu/

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 199 ratings

Nose and palate tells you that this unquestionably is a Bajan rum. The nose and palate is a little bit weak and the afterburn is medium long. It isn’t as complex as and can’t really compete with the brands from R.L. Seales and the Foursquare distillery with the same ageing.
It’s price around 25€ makes it very pricewhorty and makes it a very competitive everyday rum.
Picture: My Bajan shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2664 ratings

Bought a bottle of Cockspur VSOR 12y Rum for the New Years Eve while vacationing in Martinique. Cheap bottle and label design. Cheap at the local grocery store at EUR 17 per bottle. Cheap whisky flavors, plenty of oak and vanilla followed by a nasty burn. Better mix this one up.

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Sweet aroma with hints of wood and black tea.
Taste is full sherrylike sweet and mild. Finish is also sweet reminding El Dorado 12

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 358 ratings

Since I am a fan of Cockspur 5-Star, I was wanting to try it's older brother from a well stocked rum bar. Out of the five pours of one half ounce each, this one was the second worst. I could not even finish it due to it's bitterness from spending too long of a time in the wood. I am glad that I could not find an entire bottle to waste my money on.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Amber colour. The nose is on chocolate, the wax of old furniture. Light notes of banana, candied fruit, toffee, coffee, cherry with alcohol. On the palate, it is very fine, delicate, always chocolate, tobacco. It is also acidic with bitterness. It's not very long and the final is on red fruits, brown sugar, caramel. Beautiful discovery, in line with Mount Gay rum but with his own style.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I had a two ounce glass from Bahama Breeze. It’s ok even though I gave it a 6. It’s not something I would run to the store and buy a bottle. Just not for me.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Lembu from Finland with 7 ratings

After reading some good reviews i was waiting for this one. Vanilla scent is too strong and artificial, it dominates the taste even if you try to mix it with coke. Can't really recommend, even in this price range.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Wonderful aroma. Slightly sweet on the palette with vanilla at the forefront. Dark fruit comes in afterward and a nice warm finish. I’d definitely consider a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 75 ratings

Well worth having in your cabinet to be sipped neat or mixed this rum has a pleasant oaky aromatic about it with undertones of vanilla smooth with body share with friends or enjoy by yourself thumbs up 👍