Posting your rating...
Bristol Classic Black Spiced rum

Bristol Classic Black Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

5.6/10 (17 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
3
2
4
2
1

Rate Bristol Classic Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Bristol Classic Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Had in my collection for almost a year now and still only had around a third of the bottle. Sorry but it's just odd, such a tangy licquorice aftertaste that lingers in the mouth for what seems like eternity. Certainly not one for the fainthearted. One of the only rums I feel truly let down by as it wasn't a cheap one. To me it seems more like a licquorice liqueur so if you enjoy that kind of thing then fill your boots. Hey, you could even have what's left in my bottle.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by ACahill from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Dark brown colour, smells of licorice, cinnamon and other spices.
Licorice is present in the taste, none of the spices overbear this drink, very sippable and one of the best spiced rums I've tasted.
Will need to do some more tasting to work out the other spices but this won't be a chore.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Dunkelstes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase irgendwie wie traditionelle Weihnachten, der Duft von frisch gebackenem Lebkuchen wird von Lakritze aus dem Glas gepeitscht. Nelken, Zimt, Kardamom und Limettenzeste lassen dir das Wasser im Mund zusammenlaufen.
Am Gaumen sehr kurios (Ich weis auch nicht ob man spiced Rum pur trinken sollte oder nur zum mixen braucht) und seltsam wie ein Biss in ein mit Lakritz gefüllter Lebkuchen der in Navy Rum eingelegt wurde. Das Ganze mit vielen Exotischen Gewürzen wie Kardamom, Zimt, Nelken, schwarzem Pfeffer, Weihrauch und mehr verfeinert.
Im Abgang hinterlässt die Lakritze deutliche Spuren und die Gewürze folgen Ihr.
Ein interessanter Rum für Liebhaber dieser Art. Ich suche noch die passende Mix Zutat.

Darkest mahogany in the glass.
In the nose somehow like traditional Christmas, the smell of freshly baked gingerbread is whipped out of the glass by liquorice. Cloves, cinnamon, cardamom and lime zest make your mouth water.
On the palate very curious (I don't know if you should drink spiced rum straight or just for mixing) and strange like a bite into a liquorice-filled gingerbread that has been pickled in Navy Rum. The whole thing refined with many exotic spices like cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, black pepper, incense and more.
In the finish the liquorice leaves clear traces and the spices follow her.
An interesting rum for lovers of this kind. I am still looking for the right mix ingredient.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Captain0muffins from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

I personally love this rum but can you tell right off the bat it's not for everyone. It has a VERY distinctive taste, very hard on the liquorice/ aniseed flavour. I first tried this rum just before Christmas and was shocked after the first sip as it tasted so wildly different. I had to find out what the bottle was so asked the bartender since then I kept telling everyone how great it was till I had chance to try it again. I then banged onto the Mrs about it until she eventually bought a bottle for me. It's my pride of place in my, now thanks to this rum alone, collection. At £45 a bottle it's not a cheap option to try it but you're not gona find it at just any old pub or bar so only if you like those kind of flavours is it worth it. But if you do, it's definitely worth it. Not too hard on the finish either, great to toast the end of another week! I must that I'm a philistine who drinks all his rums with coke (Pepsi is also avaible) but you don't need much with this one

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

Let's remember this is a navy style dark spiced rum , it's expensive for a navy style rum . The flavour is dark and intense on the rocks , it's definitely too expensive to mix with cola .... So my personal taste don't see why I would purchase it which is a shame as it shows much promise ...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dani from Italy with 16 ratings

Colour : Dark Black
Nose : mulled wine, cinnamon, herbs
Flavour : Mulled Wine with orange peel, prunes
Conclusions : very sweet tasting becomes bitter in the finish. A very special taste suitable only for those who want to try different tastes. To be enjoyed in small doses in moments of relaxation, fully savoring the smells

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

The chances are that you are either going to really enjoy this one or loathe it. As spiced rums go, this has a VERY stong smell and taste. There is no subtlety here, the smell, then the flavour hits you like a brick. Personally I'm ok with that, as I have quite catholic taste buds and like a variety of tastes when it comes to rums. I can quite understand why some may hate this.
I've heard it said by some that this is not comparable with anything and is a one off. Well....not quite. I think it's a cousin of Dark Matter. Both are strong, very individual, slightly overpowering on the nose and first taste. Both smell like a spice shop. If you like Dark Matter, the chances are you will like this; if you don't then it's probably about a 1 in 4 shot that you might, but it's still worth a try becuase they are not the same.
The strongest flavour is mixed spice (particularly clove), followed by pepper and spice. After that, some liquorice and aniseed. Wheareas with Dark Matter it's aniseed, cinnamon and ginger to the fore.
I enjoyed it, but it is expensive and I think I'd recommend trying a drop of this before buying a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Just about drinkable straight but and has strong anise and orange zest flavours but the flavour notes lack balance and it's far from smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

I was surprised to see a range of 2-8 ratings on this rum. I personally enjoyed it quite a lot. Good mixer for sure, and not too bad straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

En meget mærkelig rom - har en udefinerbar eftersmag af noget sødt