Posting your rating...
Revelation Smooth Ambler rum

Revelation Smooth Ambler

USA | Gold

6.8/10 (8 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
1
1

Rate Revelation Smooth Ambler

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


8 Revelation Smooth Ambler ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Tried a glass of 99 proof Smooth Ambler Revelation rum from West Virginia. Interesting bottle design and intriguing history. Youngest rums used in their blend are from 1990. Massive flavor burst to the nose and palate. Pity its such a high proof, otherwise it could be much better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by casey from United States with 9 ratings

The rum hit the palate warm if not hot, but quickly turns into sweetness from the diffrent fruits. the end is evergoing and has a sweet burn too it.. that i would charred bourbon barrel(oak) the burn and sweetness of coffee, leather, tobbacco, guava, pear apple, and baking spice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pete from United States with 13 ratings

Unfortunately I was hoping for more from this rum. Given the back story in the rum it was a must try for me. I'm happy with the purchase and I'll have a sip here and there but it's not what I hoped for. The flavors are super intense just as others have noted but I was hoping it would be smoother -- even at the high gravity.
It you're into premium rums you have to try it, just keep your expectations in check.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Very smooth for 99-proof. Dry. An intense presence, but not an overpowering flavor. According to my reading, barrels rested this long from this distillery (Wray/Appleton, with some Monymusk) hasn't occurred since the 1940s. Very interesting indeed.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This rum is not something I would run out and buy again. Compared to the other rums in my collection this is disappointing. It doesn't be that noticeable Jamacian rum taste though.
I'll mix some with Pepsi and update this review as it maybe a good mixer. However at this price it should not need to be mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 153 ratings

En røget rom som ikke er skarp i munden.
Virker dejlig blød i smagen, men mangler lidt i eftersmagen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This is a powerful and interesting rum. Typical Jamaican style with a lot of estere. But I think you can get even better rums at it's price. And it won't look like a million on your shelf either, if that's important to you.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I read about this rum online while doing some initial research on rum and several months later came across it at a liquor store in Panama City Beach, Florida (it was NOT during spring break). Apparently the company name is Smooth Ambler and it based in West Virginia. They produce several different types of spirits including rum. They apparently obtained vintage rums from Jamaica and according to their website: "Revelation is a fine “ron anejo” from the Caribbean, having made the long journey from near the Blue Mountains of Jamaica to the Blue Ridge Mountains of Appalachia". The label declares that "the youngest rum in this batch" was "laid down in 1990". Interesting. It is a very clear amber liquid in the clear glass bottle and is rated at 99 proof so be careful with this one...just like the stallion portrayed on the label, it will kick you if you ain't careful. Also according to the label I had rum from batch #1 bottled by Nathan.

Hi Nathan. And thanks!

The aroma from the bottle is subtle...almost nonexistent. Sipping the rum revealed a smooth and bit dry Jamaican rum with a complexity of spices. Not much sweetness but very good flavor. Would make for a good sipping rum with those who enjoy straight bourbon. A little too much of a kick for me to drink straight. I think I will try it in Coke Zero and report back on how it goes.

Overall a very, very fine rum that should appeal mostly to the bourbon and whisky crowd. Also would be a good floater as a substitute for the 151's I find are normally used.

UPDATE: The flavor complements Coke Zero quite well but it does produce a greater-than-normal kick. Be forewarned. I think mixing with any citrus juice would work quite well, too.