Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Barbados rum

Plantation 2001 Barbados

Caribbean | Aged

8.1/10 (54 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
12
22
17
2

Rate Plantation 2001 Barbados

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Plantation 2001 Barbados ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f577993a9d12ff0e7bc9e92ca1a81a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Sjaak from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Although light in colour it's great in taste. Highy recommendable

Bb42a4ca16db40f77d397163fb73a148.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

This rum embodies the essence of discernment between what is referred to in harsh terms as "heat", and what is affectionately referred to as "warmth" when talking about alcohol taste.

2001 Barbados warms the palate and throat in the best way I’ve ever experienced. It's smooth, with a dominant butterscotch note on the smell and taste, and the finish is warm and soothing. Everything else takes a back note to mostly butterscotch and vanilla notes, however, the dominant flavours don't overwhelm the palate. For extra credit, even if you've had a bit too much of it and gotten a bit tipsy, the flavour is still right there with you until the very end.

Bravo Plantation! The 2001 Barbados is top notch to me!

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I am rapidly becoming a fan of the Plantation brand. This is the second type of Plantation rum I've purchased and it is just awesomeness in a bottle. I think I will have to pursue more of their other rums to see if those are as good. I ranked the first Plantation brand rum (Plantation XO 20th Anniversary) as a 9 as well but I look at is as a 9.95 for the XO to a 9.75 for the 2001 Barbados. Incredibly smooth, somewhat sweet with a nice vanilla undertone. Not really a burn but an enveloping warmth coating the back of the throat. A true sipping rum. I don't think I will be using this in mixed drinks or Coke Zero. If you run across a bottle of this, buy it immediately. But save for special occasions.

54588708f8c654a7b13e96facaa6b175.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Na XO 20 to samozřejmě nemá ani z dálky, ale za své peníze (700-800 Kč) dostanete, co jste chtěli, a je to určitě lepší než mnohé jiné rumy z Barbadosu v této cenové kategorii, zejména pokud nemáte rádi příliš sladké.
Opakovat to ale nemíním (a nejspíš ani zkoušet jiné ročníky).

1f2b602613df5bd137491ed6be068bca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Joey from United States with 10 ratings

In my opinion yes. Probably my favorite rum that I have had so far. Very similar to the XO in terms of flavor (lots of sweetness but never cloying) with an added touch of funk/grass. Full bodied. Outstanding.

A32391eabc6cfe1963ab0d0f1cd44b45.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by mswoodruff (PREMIUM) from Singapore with 16 ratings

Great aroma and smooooth. Certainly not a bad tipple

5b2b7f5e78868cc8cea2bf30221446fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Given to me by David. Was a good rum. Never could find it anywhere. Just rememer it was a good one

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

This is Island life in liquid form. Closest I can get to a beach, ocean breeze, waves at my feet, and an arm around Rihanna all from my living room.

26d873495a654ecaf0da9fb6ca6db7ca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I tred several Platation The Vingage series, which was as good a choice as Nicaragua 2003 and Peru 2004.
Very enjoyable.It has vanilla, coconut, baked fruits, and a deep flavor like chocolate.

F1325f2b46849d60e3e81b33198ddd28.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Ce rhum est moins sur l agrume que le20eme anniversaire.Mais ses notes vanillées et léger agrumes sont un régal.trés bon rhum plus traditionnel que le 20 ème anniversaire.pour les puristes c est un régal.meme si le20eme anniversaire Barbade reste au dessus.note globale 8.5.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

See, Brugal uses a fish net stocking. Typical!
You, you use plant fiber to trap your rum. Now that's initiative!

And what you've caught is a totally decent amber sipper for the price point. Hell, it's even been a great substitute for darks in Dark 'n Stormies. But back to it - totally worth kicking back and relaxing with on the rocks. It's got all the good dessert flavors, plus a smoldering oaky ember on the backend.

Comparable to Diplomatico Reserva, minus the dried fruit notes.