Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Barbados rum

Plantation 2001 Barbados

Caribbean | Aged

8.1/10
54 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
12
22
17
2

Rate Plantation 2001 Barbados

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

54 Plantation 2001 Barbados ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Sjaak from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Although light in colour it's great in taste. Highy recommendable

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

Purchased at Total Wine - $53.99. My favorite rum is the Plantation 20 Yr which I use as a benchmark. This 2001 Barbados is a bit lighter in color, not as deep amber as others. Light nose with a slight smell of alcohol. Even though it is 42% alcohol, the taste is a bit lighter than expected. Clean with a very smooth finish. Very enjoyable - I'll want to try the others from this collection as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 77 ratings

I don't know if I got a weird batch, but I'm having the hardest time deciphering this flavor profile. Yes I read the label, but I'm still confused. I taste banana, but that's all. I agree with the "softness" of it. I will admit it is an amazingly smooth rum and is a great sipper, however the flavor throws me off. I'm merely ranking it from the smoothness and the drinkability.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 42 ratings

Let it rest a minute to breathe. Sip. Stop. Rest. Repeat. Patiently. This has got spunk. And funk. Stays with you. Stewed Stone fruit? Dry. Good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by max from Canada with 27 ratings

Plantation Barbados 2001
Origine : Barbados
42.0 %
70cl
Nez : cire, miel, fleur , odeur iodé, (léger)
Bouche :note iodé, fruit sec, pain grillé vers la finale

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ambros from Netherlands with 20 ratings

One of the better ones from the Plantation vintage line up

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 29 ratings

Rum barbadosról. 11 évet érett bourbonos hordóban..igazán komplex ízkavalkád. Édesgyümölcsös, picit mentás, pikáns fűszeres,minden egyes korty igazi felfedezés , a palack is mutatós !!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

42% ABV. N: Hmm, rubbing alcohol that fortunately dissipates quickly. Dark caramel. Noticeable pot-still influence. P: No surprises here. You get balanced oak, cane, molasses, fruit. Trademark Plantation sweetness, but nicely tempered. Goes down easy.

Way better than the 5-year "Grand Reserve," but still kinda boring IMO. Good for the beginning collector (who also drinks, of course).

7+, 8--

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

Great sipper, sweet but not to much. fairly priced but hard to find these days.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Oscar from Belgium with 5 ratings

Excellent rum from Barbados. Clasic, off-swet rum, with medium intense citrus nose, harmonic and enjoyable warm rum. Very long, integrated alkohol.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

This one seems to go by different names. Mine is called a Gand Cru, but i think it's essentially the same rum just with a different label.

It has a faint smell of stewed fruit, pineapple and banana. Those flavours are all present in the mouth, as are an alcoholic burn, a dryness and a deep lying sweetness, a subtle hint of brown sugar and maybe the slight zest of star fruit. Certainly, it has more of a tropical note than many rums.

Even if you hadn't seen the bottle, you'd know instantly that this was a Plantation rum. It has that sweetness to it (here in the background rather than foreground) and that smell of tropical fruits and the warming burn on the tongue and back of the throat - not harsh but certainly powerful.

This is bottled at 42% so has a depth, and it is perhaps a little resonant of the Pineapple Stiggins in that there's a strong hint of fruit - but here that fruit is a subtle mixed note, whereas the Stiggins is clearly pineapple in the middle of the flavour though not overpoweringly so. This is also an older rum, much less sweet, more composed and the kick is much more subtle compared to the Stiggins, which has the kick of a mule if you let it hit the back of your throat.

All in all a very fine rum and certainly a refined sipper worthy of time and, perhaps, a fine cigar.