Posting your rating...
Old Man Guavaberry Republic 5-Year rum

Old Man Guavaberry Republic 5-Year

Saint Martin | Gold

6.4/10 (16 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
3
4
1

Rate Old Man Guavaberry Republic 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Old Man Guavaberry Republic 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Right up front I admit I have never tasted a guavaberry, never seen a guavaberry and would not know one if someone pelted me with one. However the rum from which it is made (by this company) is quite good.

I happen to have bottle No. GH0720 according to the label and the dark amber liquid does not give up its secrets on aroma alone. The fragrance hints of sweetness but does not confirm it. The sweetness does become more apparent upon tasting. According to the label it's "aged 5 years in oak" so it is somewhat smooth. It is manufactured and bottled by the Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company which happens to produce multiple products (including the rum) all centered about the guavaberry. Also according to what I've read, this is "an unsweetened golden blend of the finest Caribbean Rums, the youngest of which was aged in oak for five years". Unsweetened but definitely has a sweetness present. And from what I have read, rum made from guavaberries is the traditional drink for Christmas in Sint Maartin. Coincidentally I am writing this in December. Also it should be noted that this rum is available in the U.S. in limited quantities so if you run across a bottle in a liquor store, grab it because you're likely not to run across any more. Frankly, I like this. It has a unique flavor...I assume from guavaberries...that is not overpowering but unique. I have not tasted anything quite like it from the other Caribbean rums I have tried recently. Definitely a recommendable rum that should work best in tropical fruit-based rum drinks.

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Zo'n aparte smaak. Erg lekker uit onze gemeente Sint Maarten. Aanrader.

837c766d20ccdcc17ef9005e481d3df0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by fitnesscoach from United States with 2 ratings

Been a long time since I've tried, but I remember vanilla and sippability. A step up from the bottom shelf Bacardi mixers that I had first been exposed to as rhum. Wish I could get it in Texas.

Eabd880cb8be28e778fedd4a7915ec7b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 44 ratings

Weird because should be a sugar cane base but taste like molasses
Very sweet and easy taste straight

940c44258dedfed0e7c0020ff91fef69.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Rhum correct qui sort de l'ordinaire, pas commun aux autres rhums

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

A few months ago, I saw this new arrival appear on the bottom shelf of several fine liquor stores. Subtle hints like this are made to warn their best customers. Like a fool, I bought it because I love guava and the nice old gentleman on the label reminded me of the very nice folks in St. Maarten when I visited the Dutch side almost 30 years ago.

When I brought this puppy home, it tasted nothing at all like guava, but just a lot of nastiness. I later found out from their website that the pungent guavaberry has absolutely nothing to do with the lovable guava. These are small berries that grow very slowly on trees up in the hills and it takes a LOT of berries just to make one bottle. These berries are more related to eucalyptus and cloves, which is a far cry from guava. This island has the most of any of these tropical trees and there is even one tree in a Florida State Park (my guess would be Bahia Honda). As for their rum that is added to this berry juice, I have no idea where it came from and sugar cane is very hard to grow on the very arid St. Maarten. Just like the coral island of Grand Cayman, their rum has to come from somewhere else.

It took me several weeks to finally finish off this nasty bottle and swear to never buy another one. And each time I drank it, it did a number on my system the next day. It will clean you out of more than your money!

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This is a nice rum which has a nice orange flavor, similar to Pyrat. Enjoyable neat or mixed. The nice price tag for the 5 year is a nice selling point whereas I have seen other rums aged less that cost a lot more.
This is not one of the more popular rums and very few stores carry it down here in Florida. Total Wine and ABC carry either their the Guavaberry liquor or the 5 but not both and I haven’t seen the 8 year since being in the Caribbean last year.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2651 ratings

Tried out the Old Man Guavaberry 5 year in St Maartin and this is not an aged rum, it is an sugar overload syrup masked as a rum for the tourists. There is zero flavors left from a traditional aged rum. Buy this bottle at your own peril! No real difference between the 5 and the 8 year old other than price.

F85c7ff2693845c9da5f90f1aa46f3cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 51 ratings

Pretty good. Sweet, a little astringent, would drink again.

151939dea531488c0d5297024b41b3a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael from United States with 14 ratings

This dude has a bitter stringent taste. It's more like a tonic from the Wild West than a rum. Very burney. Not useful for anything.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I didn't really expect to like this rum because of the price (only $22.99 @ yourwinecellars.com) and funny name (what's a guavaberry?) But it exceeded my expectations.

Has a nice sweetness for a rum they claim is unsweetened. Also, nicely smooth for an inexpensive rum. Smells and tastes of oak, spice, and maybe some guavaberry which they say they put in it (I don't know what that is). It's really quite good.

Now I want to try their 8 year!