Posting your rating...
Cubaney Selecto 18-Year rum

Rate Cubaney Selecto 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Cubaney Selecto 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Solera-aged rum from the Dominican Republic from Ron Cubaney, a brand which started out in Cuba (which you might have guessed from the name). However, following post-revolution unrest, the brand moved to the Dominican Republic but retained certain aspects of Cuban rum production.
Demerara sugar, rich sherry and a enjoyably bitter coffee notes.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What a hard find the Cubaney Selecto 18 year really was. It took me over 5 years to find a bottle and now I'm looking forward to trying the last one left, the 25 year old Cubaney's. The 18 year had a very deep flavor profile, similar tobacco flavor as the Pusser's 15y has, but much more mellow. The 18y Cubaney has a very nice and long finish without any burn. Definitely a strong positive surprise and worth the 5 year wait.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Posted about 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Seriously, for the price its one of the best rums I have ever tasted. Perfectly balanced sweetness and afterburn.

Posted 17 days ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 16 ratings

It has a smoked aroma, but only this, nothing else. Alcohol flavour...

Posted about 1 month ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 129 ratings

Like a smart book, you can reread it several times. ..... Интересный аромат с доминированием лака. Вкус сложный и натурально сухой. Очень подходит для посиделок с другом на веранде с изящными рюмками и минимумом закуски.

Posted 6 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Má druhá (a poslední) exkurse do hájemství pánů Olivera a Olivera. Zjevně s jejich produkcí nejsem kompatibilní - cítím v tom stejně nepříjemný "vanilkový" odstín, jako v Presidente 15. Tady je sice jemnější, ale jeho pozadí ještě nudnější, nebo tu pachuť prostě nestačí přebít. Nikam se to nerozvíjí; na deklarovaných 18 let je to až překvapivě simplexní, výslovně jednopanákové. Nejlepší na tom je nová láhev s docela elegantním designem, číslovaná a podepsaná (viz obrázek). Ale flašku nepiju a její obsah mi - kór za ty prachy - přijde dokonce horší než "prezident" revolucionář Martí.

Po dopití jsem snížil hodnocení té nicotnosti ještě o bod - sbohem navždy, Oliverové...

Posted 7 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

This rum from Oliver was great supprise to me. At that price it is exceptional. Its very smooth, smells oaky and is not that sweet. In taste you can find vanilla and caramel with hints of oak. Really great.

Posted 10 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

Wow, I love this Rum, full of lovely flavours and suitably sweet, but not overly so, with a very pleasant afterburn. This must be near perfection for this price range, and a damn sight better than some others that cost £10 more. Also a ridiculously cool presentation box and bottle. Just ordered my 2nd bottle. ........ So tempted to give this a 9.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reino Tilkki from Estonia with 10 ratings

Tasty, spicy, amazing, juicy, flavorful and most importantly very well priced. Definitely a strong 10.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

An ok rum with some added sugar. Nothing special about it. It is a solera, so there is a "homeopatic" amount of truly 18 years old rum.

Still... It is a rum. Which is much more, than you can say about many other even more expensive Olivers products.

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Veľmi jemný a nie príliš sladký, príjemné pitie. Súhlasím však s tým, že je nudný. Je fajn, ale za tú cenu je to proste málo.

Posted over 1 year ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 15 ratings

I have the 18 & 25, paid $70.00+ for each. On the nose, slightly nondescript. Very sugary on the front of the tongue. Makes me wonder if any sugar has been added. I’m not educated enough & don’t have a sophisticated palette enough to say with certainty. On the backend, slight caramel with very little burn. This rum is just ok & ok isn’t good enough for my $70.00 USD. Will not make a 2nd purchase.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Well balanced smooth rum.
Plasant aroma with sweet tones of chocolate, molases and fruit.
Taste is sweet and smooth. Tones of honey and oak.
Mild and warm aftertaste.

Posted about 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

A lot of flavours in almost perfect balance. Great rum for great price.

Posted about 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

This rum represents the key characteristics that should have. It has significant bitter alcohol tail, smooth gentle body and aroma combining sweet tones with wood.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave from Netherlands with 33 ratings

Bij toeval ontdekt. Een heerlijke rum, lekker zoet.

Posted about 3 years ago by Kim Ekholm from Denmark with 6 ratings

Dejligt og lækker rom. Ikke for sød, let styrke i smagen.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Part of my collection, have to taste it again, but I know that this is a fine rum.