Posting your rating...
Sammys Beach Bar Light rum

Sammys Beach Bar Light

United States | Light

5.9/10 (16 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
6
2
2
1

Rate Sammys Beach Bar Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Sammys Beach Bar Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is an above average light rum. Strong notes of sugarcane; it tastes like a rhum agricole/cachaça. It also has a little pepper, though I'm not sure if I notice the coconut and banana they advertise. It's quite good actually for a light rum. In fact, one of the better light rums I've tried. Definitely worth a try, especially if you like light rums or agricole!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by PirateKristen from United States with 18 ratings

Friends who like bacardi light can easily be swayed over to this rum. This does the trick and glad to have it in my collection!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I first researched this rum with caution before buying it. As a musician, I only liked Sammy Hagar's brief stint as lead singer of Chickenfoot. His Cabo Wabo tequilas are highly over rated and I had serious doubts about his rum. My original research showed that this rum was made from sugar cane juice pressed from cane grown on Maui. Hmmm!!! An agricole rum from Maui could be quite interesting, so I bought it without reading the new label that says Puerto Rican rum.

Graded against all of other white rums, it ranks as a high level 6, but it is not quite an agricole any more. It is too smooth to have come from the Bacardi factory, so this alleviated my fears when opening up the bottle. My guess is that it comes from the folks at Don Q. It is a very good mixer white rum, but at $22 per bottle, there are several others that offer better taste and value. However, for tropical fruit based drinks, Sammy's is a better mixer than my old reliable Cruzan Gold. Sammy's also makes great original daiquiris, but downright terrible Cuba Libres.

I later looked up his website to read more about this rum. The sugar cane comes from somewhere in the Caribbean and is distilled at Distileria Seralles near Ponce, Puerto Rico, which is where Don Q rum comes from. My guess was right. It is then bottled in California.

This is indeed a very different white rum that really cannot be compared to other white rums or pure agricoles. This one is like a subdued agricole that won't offend anyone. Some may like it very much and some like me don't particularly care for it. It is worth giving it a try for the unique twist that it adds to tropical drinks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Sammy's Beach Bar Rum Light with my friend while road tripping through 18 states and 5,000 miles. Silly and super cheap looking bottle and label design. Pure alcohol to the nose and palate. Very strong burn at the end. Nasty even when mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joe Wilson from United States with 3 ratings

I was expecting better at this price range. Had a different alcohol taste like it was defused wit rubbing alcohol. Liked Cruzan white rum better

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

From Montrose to Sammy Hagar's solo days to Van Halen to Chickenfoot and being Guy Fieri's best man, he now has Cabo Wabo Tequilla and a rum portfolio to add to his repertoire.
A decent mixing rum with a strong taste of cane juice and some heat. Floral notes with a Martinique Agricole style of rum. Not bad for the $24 I paid for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

Pure sugar cane not a fan really strong pure alcohol flavour

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 54 ratings

Pretty straightforward clear run made from sugar cane. Balanced.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

not a fan of fresh cane juice,but if you are you should like this rum,

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Superior mojitos will be in your future with a bottle of this stuff. I love the sugar cane flavors. Delicious!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Though a tad overpriced (docking it one point), this rum's really not bad. Not a big fan of Mr. Hagar or his brand, but he sources his sugar cane from Maui, which is very cool. If you're going for a beach bar drink, you could do much worse than to use this stuff! Fantastic for lighter tiki cocktails, or even a dryer concoction.