Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP rum

Rate Clement VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


131 Clement VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

I didn't like this one at all. Is way too dry for me

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Rated like a fine cognac. Strong, made from pressed sugar cane instead of molasses. From Martinique. With a splash of water it really opened up.

Posted over 6 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 2 ratings

Nice, light, and grassy rum. Sits comfortably on the palate like a grasshopper sunbathing on a blade of grass. Slow and steady wins the race.

Posted over 2 years ago by Garry Lelliott from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

As a first foray into rhum agricole, this proved to be a pleasant surprise as I had read how different agricoles were to molasses-based rums and was expecting something radically different.
Yes, it is drier than molasses-based rum, with a grassy note and a herbal undercurrent that I just can't place, but it has a pleasant sweetness and complexity.
Unlike others here, I found that drinking it over ice actually made it slightly less enjoyable.

Posted about 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Another great Rhum from Clement (much better than JM most of the time.
Strong sugar cane flavor but very smooth at the same time, perfect balance.

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Delicious nose with warm grass, oak, and caramel. It's really a pleasure to smell. Unfortunately, the palate goes another direction: saltwater and brine, with grass and subtle sweetness. Briney rums just don't do it for me. After time, some pepper emerges.

This IS more refined than Select Barrel, with more wood and less harshness. But the salt's just not my thing.

I'm not sure about this one as a sipper, but I'm sure it would make a killer Ti Punch.

8-, 7+ (might be 8- with a future tasting)

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Nice agricole rhum with woody, earthy cane flavor with dry notes. Definitely a sipper, just wish it wasn't so expensive. Complexity and smoothness on the palate affords this rum to be part of your rum collection.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

E' un rum con un primo impatto molto forte, che può lasciare delusi. Ma una volta assaporato rende molto bene. Si sentono delle note di tabacco, che lo rendono speciale accompagnato ad un bel sigaro

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Rum Clément VSOP zrál nejméně čtyři roky, a to v panenských dubových sudech z francouzské oblasti Limousin a ve znovu vypalovaných sudech po bourbonu.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Martinik
Aroma: Jednalo se o můj první ochutnaný zemědělský rum, takže mě první přičichnutí velmi překvapilo, prvotní dojem byl, jako bych měl ve sklence velmi ovocně kořenitou whisky, ovšem postupně se ukazují sladší tóny a pestrá paleta kořenitých vůní. Sušené ovoce, med, kokos a čokoláda. Poměrně složitá, až rafinovaná vůně, je jedním slovem úchvatná. O to hůř se hledají slova k jejímu popisu. Charakterem bych ji opravdu přirovnal spíše k whisky, než k ostatním „nezemědělským“ rumům. (95 b)
Chuť: Ve vůni jsem cítil whisky, v chuti pro změnu koňak :-) Lehce zvláštní chuť, nasládlá, dřevitá, topinková, kořenitá, silná , výrazná, specifická, obzvlášť svou dochutí, zanechává výrazný ocas. Není to špatné, ale určitě alespoň pro mě nezvyklé. (83 b)
Shrnutí: Vůně je pro mě téměř fenomenální, v chuti nejsem zklamán, spíš je to pro mě nezvyk, je opravdu jiná, než na co jsem u karibských rumů zvyklý. Na to, že se jedná o moji první ochutnávku tohoto stylu, je to velmi nadějné a rád budu v tomto směru bádat dál.
Body: 89

Posted over 6 years ago by Kyle from United States with 2 ratings

I'm a whiskey guy, so I really dug this rum write a bit. Grassy in flavor, and great slightly chilled. This is one I'd have as a standby at home.

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

A very smoky rum with a lingering finish that seems to coat my mouth with a buttery feeling. Slightly harsh, better with a dab of water

Posted over 7 years ago by Henry Mori from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Tastes like a whiskey! Smoky but not overly so. Long finish - taste really evolves/matures through the sipping process. Best mixed.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Ein typischer Vertreter aus dem Hause Clément.
In der Nase unaufdringliche Noten von tropischen Früchten und ein hauch Vanille.
im Gaumen ein richtiger Schmeichler, elegant und geschmeidig wird die Zunge von
zarten Vanille und Holznoten umgarnt. Auch die Fruchtaromen fehlen nicht.
Im Abgang klingen die Fruchtnoten lange nach.
Ein wahrlich leckerer Sommerruhm.

A typical representative from Clément.
In the nose unobtrusive notes of tropical fruits and a touch of vanilla.
In the palate a real flatter, elegant and supple the tongue is surrounded
by delicate vanilla and woodnotes. Also the fruit aromas are not missing.
In the finish, the fruit notes stays long.
A truly delicious summerruhm.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Actually, until I read the reviews mentioning whisky, it hadn't occurred to me where the harshness was coming from. However, it definitely has a whisky like taste on top of the agricole.
After allowing the residuals to sit in your mouth for a bit, the sweetness of the sugarcane finally comes through. However, definitely not my usual style.

Posted about 3 years ago by Claudio from Italy with 30 ratings

I got this rum, but the bottle has a black & orange label.
VSOP in the AOC Martinique Rhum Agricole means aged for a minimum 4 years.
This spirit has strong bourbon influences, it has a light body and tastes a little smoky, with tipical grass and vegetal flavour for an agricole.
Recommended to everybody, whisky drinkers will love it.
This rhum represent something different in the aged spirits world.
It's a very interesting age point, to appreciate both wood and fresh sugar cane.

Posted over 3 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

You can easily compare this rum with a light whiskey. Also light color, and refreshing taste. Will recommend for a hot day in the Caribbean.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma in the bottle is light with an distinct ethanolesque aroma. Hard to put in words. The aroma reveals immediately that this is not the type of rum with which I am more familiar. I, like most Americans, am partial to the rums with more noticeable sweetness. This rum really does not have that character and is more bourbonesque. Apparently that is typical of the better agricole rums. However this rum does have a grassy flavor with somewhat subtle oak undertones that do not add bitterness. I personally would not prefer this as a sipping rum although those with a taste for bourbon might like this neat. I find this works extremely well in Coke Zero and I believe it would work well in mixed drinks, especially fruit-based drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It's smokey and very thin, unlike the molasses-based industrial rums (which I prefer). Not bad for an agricole, almost pleasant in fact. Although it's not bad straight up, it's even better - astonishingly good - in a Mai Tai when paired with a dark Jamaican rum. I'm not a huge fan of this type of rum, but it's an important player in my Tiki recipes.

Posted almost 5 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 53 ratings

Ce Rhum Clément a la particularité d'avoir été vieilli trois ans dans un fût de Bourbon.

Au nez, on peut ressentir certains arômes qu'on retrouve dans le Bourbon. En bouche, il est assez sec et intense pour terminer avec une belle longueur !

A goûter :)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is an agricole that can compete with low end aged rum. It has a nice scent and flavor of caramel, a peppery spice, cocoa, and sugar.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Très sec en bouche, il ne conviendra pas aux amateurs de sucré-vanillé.
Une très belle longueur, beaucoup d arômes...
A recommander

Posted almost 5 years ago by thearn3 from Canada with 14 ratings

got a bottle for my Birthday, and found out this is more of a sipping rum than a mixer! Over ice and letting it sit for a while gets the flavours to respond. Did not mix well with cola! Opens with oak and floral notes and then after sitting for a while, presents a few spice notes. Smooth after sitting, but edgy after the pour!

Posted almost 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Can someone tell me what justifies the high prices demanded for rhum agricole? Sure, I know there's a process with strict rules. But if that produces a result that gives me literally none of the enjoyment of rum made in other ways, I can't justify it. Is there anyone here who thinks this product compares to the Zacapa 23 Solera, the Plantation 20th Anniversary or the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year? On price alone, it should. But it doesn't. Two positive points that bring the rating up to "5": First, Clement has chosen a handsome, displayable package. Second, if you're a cognac drinker, this would be a good substitute for any garden-variety VSOP cognac.

Posted over 7 years ago by AliC from United States with 2 ratings

A smokey rum that tastes like a whiskey, but after adding some ice tastes more promising.

Posted 6 days ago by Izzy from Sweden with 7 ratings

Nice gold brown colour
Nose: dried fruits, grass, mocka, vanilla and wood
Taste: like a light smokey whisky, litle sweetness, orange and vanilla, pleasant and long taste