Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP rum

Clement VSOP

Martinique | Agricole

6.4/10 (138 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
5
12
45
49
17
3
1

Rate Clement VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


138 Clement VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Actually, until I read the reviews mentioning whisky, it hadn't occurred to me where the harshness was coming from. However, it definitely has a whisky like taste on top of the agricole.
After allowing the residuals to sit in your mouth for a bit, the sweetness of the sugarcane finally comes through. However, definitely not my usual style.

2a6d8a133cea00ff0c22d566e5c9bdcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 54 ratings

Rated like a fine cognac. Strong, made from pressed sugar cane instead of molasses. From Martinique. With a splash of water it really opened up.

D1d796081a4f523fcef1c82ace5e090c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 2 ratings

Nice, light, and grassy rum. Sits comfortably on the palate like a grasshopper sunbathing on a blade of grass. Slow and steady wins the race.

6c72c9a0dfcd6071e1346f50e42312e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Garry Lelliott from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

As a first foray into rhum agricole, this proved to be a pleasant surprise as I had read how different agricoles were to molasses-based rums and was expecting something radically different.
Yes, it is drier than molasses-based rum, with a grassy note and a herbal undercurrent that I just can't place, but it has a pleasant sweetness and complexity.
Unlike others here, I found that drinking it over ice actually made it slightly less enjoyable.

C87c4e96baf3aeee81568744e64d5e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Another great Rhum from Clement (much better than JM most of the time.
Strong sugar cane flavor but very smooth at the same time, perfect balance.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Delicious nose with warm grass, oak, and caramel. It's really a pleasure to smell. Unfortunately, the palate goes another direction: saltwater and brine, with grass and subtle sweetness. Briney rums just don't do it for me. After time, some pepper emerges.

This IS more refined than Select Barrel, with more wood and less harshness. But the salt's just not my thing.

I'm not sure about this one as a sipper, but I'm sure it would make a killer Ti Punch.

8-, 7+ (might be 8- with a future tasting)

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Nice agricole rhum with woody, earthy cane flavor with dry notes. Definitely a sipper, just wish it wasn't so expensive. Complexity and smoothness on the palate affords this rum to be part of your rum collection.

B7f35897319daf3d74d98e6fc7007295.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

E' un rum con un primo impatto molto forte, che può lasciare delusi. Ma una volta assaporato rende molto bene. Si sentono delle note di tabacco, che lo rendono speciale accompagnato ad un bel sigaro

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Rum Clément VSOP zrál nejméně čtyři roky, a to v panenských dubových sudech z francouzské oblasti Limousin a ve znovu vypalovaných sudech po bourbonu.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Martinik
Aroma: Jednalo se o můj první ochutnaný zemědělský rum, takže mě první přičichnutí velmi překvapilo, prvotní dojem byl, jako bych měl ve sklence velmi ovocně kořenitou whisky, ovšem postupně se ukazují sladší tóny a pestrá paleta kořenitých vůní. Sušené ovoce, med, kokos a čokoláda. Poměrně složitá, až rafinovaná vůně, je jedním slovem úchvatná. O to hůř se hledají slova k jejímu popisu. Charakterem bych ji opravdu přirovnal spíše k whisky, než k ostatním „nezemědělským“ rumům. (95 b)
Chuť: Ve vůni jsem cítil whisky, v chuti pro změnu koňak :-) Lehce zvláštní chuť, nasládlá, dřevitá, topinková, kořenitá, silná , výrazná, specifická, obzvlášť svou dochutí, zanechává výrazný ocas. Není to špatné, ale určitě alespoň pro mě nezvyklé. (83 b)
Shrnutí: Vůně je pro mě téměř fenomenální, v chuti nejsem zklamán, spíš je to pro mě nezvyk, je opravdu jiná, než na co jsem u karibských rumů zvyklý. Na to, že se jedná o moji první ochutnávku tohoto stylu, je to velmi nadějné a rád budu v tomto směru bádat dál.
Body: 89

2251ac14efd0a6dfe2f8c286a64d4427.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Kyle from United States with 2 ratings

I'm a whiskey guy, so I really dug this rum write a bit. Grassy in flavor, and great slightly chilled. This is one I'd have as a standby at home.

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 142 ratings

A very smoky rum with a lingering finish that seems to coat my mouth with a buttery feeling. Slightly harsh, better with a dab of water