Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP rum

Clement VSOP

Martinique | Agricole

6.5/10 (154 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
5
12
47
56
23
3
2

Rate Clement VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


154 Clement VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma in the bottle is light with an distinct ethanolesque aroma. Hard to put in words. The aroma reveals immediately that this is not the type of rum with which I am more familiar. I, like most Americans, am partial to the rums with more noticeable sweetness. This rum really does not have that character and is more bourbonesque. Apparently that is typical of the better agricole rums. However this rum does have a grassy flavor with somewhat subtle oak undertones that do not add bitterness. I personally would not prefer this as a sipping rum although those with a taste for bourbon might like this neat. I find this works extremely well in Coke Zero and I believe it would work well in mixed drinks, especially fruit-based drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by PirateKristen from United States with 18 ratings

This is lovely and introduced me to a whole new world of rums! This is lovely in a rum old fashioned or a three dots and a dash! Glad to have it in my collection!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

I needed a Rhum Agricole to make some Mai Tai's and this one does the job pretty well. On its own, it's nothing too special but definitely tastes fine. It does however compliment over rums really well in cocktails so its worth trying for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by theiv from United States with 1 rating

Aroma: caramel, toffee, oak
Mouthfeel: soft and light, bit of lingering burn on the lips with none on the tongue or throat
Palate: caramel and light cacao give way to banana and grassy rubber at the finish.
Overall: decent, but a bit one-dimensional.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

I was very interested to try an Agricole Rum. This one had some decent reviews, was reasonably priced, and available at my local store. It was not bad, and it did have a bit of a grassy overtone as other reviewers have mentioned. I’m just not sure if I like Agricole. I’ll revisit this review after I finish the bottle and see if it grows on me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 166 ratings

This is really good stuff. Different than molasses based rums or Guyanese demerara. Many reviewers have described it as "grassy". It is definitely earthy but also bright and clean. Agricole is truly different and this is one of the best agricoles I have encountered. Smooth, bright and complex. There is some spice and melted butter notes in there. Crisp and delicious with a wonderful bite. You know this is RHUM! Great finish too. Good sipper. I like it equally well neat or on ice. A unique rum for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by mjlanger (PREMIUM) from Canada with 16 ratings

This rum has nothing really distinctive but is still passable

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Izzy from Sweden with 18 ratings

Nice gold brown colour
Nose: dried fruits, grass, mocka, vanilla and wood
Taste: like a light smokey whisky, litle sweetness, orange and vanilla, pleasant and long taste

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by nicolaigrubbe@gmail.com from Denmark with 19 ratings

Nice smell of apples and sugar canes, smooth taste.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 243 ratings

This one need some time in the glas.
First it has a very light nose that is saying hello to you. You need to stick you nose deeper in the glas to catch the aromas. But after some time more fruits are developing in the glas.
The taste makes a turnaround from salty to sweet taste in the middle.
It's like a good story when you got at the turning point.
This rhum has also suffered from the dilution. 40% is not enough and I get sometimes a feeling of watery taste when I first put it in my mouth.

Smell: white fruits (apples, melon), citrus, olives/salt, medicine, pepper, some smoke
Taste initial: salt, grasy and dry notes (paper), medicine
Taste middle: the sugar cane is comingt with some sweetness (very nice), paper, white pepper
Finish: dry/sweet, paper, again pepper, spice
Aftertaste: pepper and then white fruits again

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 73 ratings

Not bad by any stretch but pretty underwhelming. Thin and flabby on the pallet.