Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP rum

Clement VSOP

Martinique | Agricole

6.5/10 (154 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
5
12
47
56
23
3
2

Rate Clement VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


154 Clement VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

This is average agricole with a nice clement character.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma in the bottle is light with an distinct ethanolesque aroma. Hard to put in words. The aroma reveals immediately that this is not the type of rum with which I am more familiar. I, like most Americans, am partial to the rums with more noticeable sweetness. This rum really does not have that character and is more bourbonesque. Apparently that is typical of the better agricole rums. However this rum does have a grassy flavor with somewhat subtle oak undertones that do not add bitterness. I personally would not prefer this as a sipping rum although those with a taste for bourbon might like this neat. I find this works extremely well in Coke Zero and I believe it would work well in mixed drinks, especially fruit-based drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 55 ratings

Ce Rhum Clément a la particularité d'avoir été vieilli trois ans dans un fût de Bourbon.

Au nez, on peut ressentir certains arômes qu'on retrouve dans le Bourbon. En bouche, il est assez sec et intense pour terminer avec une belle longueur !

A goûter :)

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

This is an agricole that can compete with low end aged rum. It has a nice scent and flavor of caramel, a peppery spice, cocoa, and sugar.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Très sec en bouche, il ne conviendra pas aux amateurs de sucré-vanillé.
Une très belle longueur, beaucoup d arômes...
A recommander

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by thearn3 from Canada with 14 ratings

got a bottle for my Birthday, and found out this is more of a sipping rum than a mixer! Over ice and letting it sit for a while gets the flavours to respond. Did not mix well with cola! Opens with oak and floral notes and then after sitting for a while, presents a few spice notes. Smooth after sitting, but edgy after the pour!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Can someone tell me what justifies the high prices demanded for rhum agricole? Sure, I know there's a process with strict rules. But if that produces a result that gives me literally none of the enjoyment of rum made in other ways, I can't justify it. Is there anyone here who thinks this product compares to the Zacapa 23 Solera, the Plantation 20th Anniversary or the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year? On price alone, it should. But it doesn't. Two positive points that bring the rating up to "5": First, Clement has chosen a handsome, displayable package. Second, if you're a cognac drinker, this would be a good substitute for any garden-variety VSOP cognac.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by AliC from United States with 2 ratings

A smokey rum that tastes like a whiskey, but after adding some ice tastes more promising.

Small neil   peokoe img 2438

Posted 14 days ago by NeilIsntWitty from Canada with 5 ratings

With rhum agricole options limited on Canada's west coast, I was thrilled to get my hands on this the other day. Typical brighter grassy notes of an agricole were nicely balanced against the toffee notes. Very little residual sugar and likely no dosage makes for a dry sipper, that worked great in a Ti' Punch. As a sipper I would have liked a fraction more sweetness, but that's personal preference.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Hot_Toddy (PREMIUM) from United States with 13 ratings

My first cane aoc martinique rhum agricole vieuz. A bit hard to find where I live, but worth the trip.

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by Yohobro from Canada with 10 ratings

($49CAD) Woa. Bourbon? Nope, this is rhum Agricole from Martinique. Doesn’t smell too much like rum. It doesn’t taste like any of the rum I’ve had before this either. Tastes like a lot of bourbons I’ve had though, at least at first.
Then a bit of grassy flavour comes through with a healthy amount of heat throughout. Decent amount of finish to help you mull over whatever is on your mind.
An interesting rhum, nice when you want a break from the sweeter sippers. I find it hard to find a bad rum - maybe I just pick good ones... Even though this isn’t my jam, I still quite enjoy it. Especially given the price, give this one a shot.