Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP rum

Clement VSOP

Martinique | Agricole

6.5/10 (154 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
5
12
47
56
23
3
2

Rate Clement VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


154 Clement VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma in the bottle is light with an distinct ethanolesque aroma. Hard to put in words. The aroma reveals immediately that this is not the type of rum with which I am more familiar. I, like most Americans, am partial to the rums with more noticeable sweetness. This rum really does not have that character and is more bourbonesque. Apparently that is typical of the better agricole rums. However this rum does have a grassy flavor with somewhat subtle oak undertones that do not add bitterness. I personally would not prefer this as a sipping rum although those with a taste for bourbon might like this neat. I find this works extremely well in Coke Zero and I believe it would work well in mixed drinks, especially fruit-based drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It's smokey and very thin, unlike the molasses-based industrial rums (which I prefer). Not bad for an agricole, almost pleasant in fact. Although it's not bad straight up, it's even better - astonishingly good - in a Mai Tai when paired with a dark Jamaican rum. I'm not a huge fan of this type of rum, but it's an important player in my Tiki recipes.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

E' un rum con un primo impatto molto forte, che può lasciare delusi. Ma una volta assaporato rende molto bene. Si sentono delle note di tabacco, che lo rendono speciale accompagnato ad un bel sigaro

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Rum Clément VSOP zrál nejméně čtyři roky, a to v panenských dubových sudech z francouzské oblasti Limousin a ve znovu vypalovaných sudech po bourbonu.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Martinik
Aroma: Jednalo se o můj první ochutnaný zemědělský rum, takže mě první přičichnutí velmi překvapilo, prvotní dojem byl, jako bych měl ve sklence velmi ovocně kořenitou whisky, ovšem postupně se ukazují sladší tóny a pestrá paleta kořenitých vůní. Sušené ovoce, med, kokos a čokoláda. Poměrně složitá, až rafinovaná vůně, je jedním slovem úchvatná. O to hůř se hledají slova k jejímu popisu. Charakterem bych ji opravdu přirovnal spíše k whisky, než k ostatním „nezemědělským“ rumům. (95 b)
Chuť: Ve vůni jsem cítil whisky, v chuti pro změnu koňak :-) Lehce zvláštní chuť, nasládlá, dřevitá, topinková, kořenitá, silná , výrazná, specifická, obzvlášť svou dochutí, zanechává výrazný ocas. Není to špatné, ale určitě alespoň pro mě nezvyklé. (83 b)
Shrnutí: Vůně je pro mě téměř fenomenální, v chuti nejsem zklamán, spíš je to pro mě nezvyk, je opravdu jiná, než na co jsem u karibských rumů zvyklý. Na to, že se jedná o moji první ochutnávku tohoto stylu, je to velmi nadějné a rád budu v tomto směru bádat dál.
Body: 89

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Kyle from United States with 2 ratings

I'm a whiskey guy, so I really dug this rum write a bit. Grassy in flavor, and great slightly chilled. This is one I'd have as a standby at home.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 85 ratings

En ok French style rum, let at drikke. Ok til prisen

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by abrarey from United States with 28 ratings

Very good is quite different on what I use to drink (Barbancourt) very smooth and no harsh alcohol feeling, I was expecting more like herbal flavor but is very dim.
Nose: Candies.
Taste: smooth, kind of reminds me like a Cognac.
The aftertaste is where you feel more the herbal and sugarcane properties.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by sebastospud from United States with 16 ratings

Nice and warm. Grass and rosemary on the nose. Woody and cider-like on the palette. Really lovely and an easy supper.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Ein typischer Vertreter aus dem Hause Clément.
In der Nase unaufdringliche Noten von tropischen Früchten und ein hauch Vanille.
im Gaumen ein richtiger Schmeichler, elegant und geschmeidig wird die Zunge von
zarten Vanille und Holznoten umgarnt. Auch die Fruchtaromen fehlen nicht.
Im Abgang klingen die Fruchtnoten lange nach.
Ein wahrlich leckerer Sommerruhm.

A typical representative from Clément.
In the nose unobtrusive notes of tropical fruits and a touch of vanilla.
In the palate a real flatter, elegant and supple the tongue is surrounded
by delicate vanilla and woodnotes. Also the fruit aromas are not missing.
In the finish, the fruit notes stays long.
A truly delicious summerruhm.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Claudio from Italy with 30 ratings

I got this rum, but the bottle has a black & orange label.
VSOP in the AOC Martinique Rhum Agricole means aged for a minimum 4 years.
This spirit has strong bourbon influences, it has a light body and tastes a little smoky, with tipical grass and vegetal flavour for an agricole.
Recommended to everybody, whisky drinkers will love it.
This rhum represent something different in the aged spirits world.
It's a very interesting age point, to appreciate both wood and fresh sugar cane.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 18 ratings

You can easily compare this rum with a light whiskey. Also light color, and refreshing taste. Will recommend for a hot day in the Caribbean.