Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP 4-Year rum

Clement VSOP 4-Year

Martinique | Agricole | 40.0% ABV

6.5/10
171 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
2
5
12
52
57
30
5
2

Rate Clement VSOP 4-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

171 Clement VSOP 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Flash from France with 16 ratings

One of my first "old" rum and i like it !

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It's smokey and very thin, unlike the molasses-based industrial rums (which I prefer). Not bad for an agricole, almost pleasant in fact. Although it's not bad straight up, it's even better - astonishingly good - in a Mai Tai when paired with a dark Jamaican rum. I'm not a huge fan of this type of rum, but it's an important player in my Tiki recipes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

E' un rum con un primo impatto molto forte, che può lasciare delusi. Ma una volta assaporato rende molto bene. Si sentono delle note di tabacco, che lo rendono speciale accompagnato ad un bel sigaro

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Rum Clément VSOP zrál nejméně čtyři roky, a to v panenských dubových sudech z francouzské oblasti Limousin a ve znovu vypalovaných sudech po bourbonu.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Martinik
Aroma: Jednalo se o můj první ochutnaný zemědělský rum, takže mě první přičichnutí velmi překvapilo, prvotní dojem byl, jako bych měl ve sklence velmi ovocně kořenitou whisky, ovšem postupně se ukazují sladší tóny a pestrá paleta kořenitých vůní. Sušené ovoce, med, kokos a čokoláda. Poměrně složitá, až rafinovaná vůně, je jedním slovem úchvatná. O to hůř se hledají slova k jejímu popisu. Charakterem bych ji opravdu přirovnal spíše k whisky, než k ostatním „nezemědělským“ rumům. (95 b)
Chuť: Ve vůni jsem cítil whisky, v chuti pro změnu koňak :-) Lehce zvláštní chuť, nasládlá, dřevitá, topinková, kořenitá, silná , výrazná, specifická, obzvlášť svou dochutí, zanechává výrazný ocas. Není to špatné, ale určitě alespoň pro mě nezvyklé. (83 b)
Shrnutí: Vůně je pro mě téměř fenomenální, v chuti nejsem zklamán, spíš je to pro mě nezvyk, je opravdu jiná, než na co jsem u karibských rumů zvyklý. Na to, že se jedná o moji první ochutnávku tohoto stylu, je to velmi nadějné a rád budu v tomto směru bádat dál.
Body: 89

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Kyle from United States with 2 ratings

I'm a whiskey guy, so I really dug this rum write a bit. Grassy in flavor, and great slightly chilled. This is one I'd have as a standby at home.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by tb420 from United States with 5 ratings

Tastes like a bad cognac mixed with a bad whisky. Super harsh and nasty to drink straight. Mix it with anything and it ruins that anything. I picked it up for $35 on sale and seriously regret it. I think maybe I'll use it to start the woodstove this coming winter. It hits the nose and the palette with a stink - like some bad moonshine that someone tried to make less worse by oaking it.

Small 20201230 224047

Posted 7 months ago by Shanon from United States with 20 ratings

So, it starts with a rich vanilla flavor and the finish is a smokey end. It's a nice rum but not the best i ever had.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 42 ratings

Oak and smoke on the nose, with a bit of grass. Lots of oak, some caramel, and grass on the palate. Very smooth, and a good sipper. I agree with some of the other reviews that this feels a bit like a whiskey.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by oedelpino from United States with 30 ratings

Oak, spice, with light floral notes on the nose...on the palate, some herbal/grassy notes with warm sugar and ripe fruit. Longish finish...Great intro sipping agricole for whisky lovers, and also works great in premium tiki cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Yohobro from Canada with 22 ratings

($49CAD) Woa. Bourbon? Nope, this is rhum Agricole from Martinique. Doesn’t smell too much like rum. It doesn’t taste like any of the rum I’ve had before this either. Tastes like a lot of bourbons I’ve had though, at least at first.
Then a bit of grassy flavour comes through with a healthy amount of heat throughout. Decent amount of finish to help you mull over whatever is on your mind.
An interesting rhum, nice when you want a break from the sweeter sippers. I find it hard to find a bad rum - maybe I just pick good ones... Even though this isn’t my jam, I still quite enjoy it. Especially given the price, give this one a shot.
Update: I find this is a great addition to my collection purely based on variety and price. I will be keeping this in my usual rotation.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 98 ratings

En ok French style rum, let at drikke. Ok til prisen