Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP rum

Clement VSOP

Martinique | Agricole

6.4/10 (145 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
5
12
46
51
21
3
1

Rate Clement VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Clement VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 54 ratings

Rated like a fine cognac. Strong, made from pressed sugar cane instead of molasses. From Martinique. With a splash of water it really opened up.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 2 ratings

Nice, light, and grassy rum. Sits comfortably on the palate like a grasshopper sunbathing on a blade of grass. Slow and steady wins the race.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Garry Lelliott from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

As a first foray into rhum agricole, this proved to be a pleasant surprise as I had read how different agricoles were to molasses-based rums and was expecting something radically different.
Yes, it is drier than molasses-based rum, with a grassy note and a herbal undercurrent that I just can't place, but it has a pleasant sweetness and complexity.
Unlike others here, I found that drinking it over ice actually made it slightly less enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Another great Rhum from Clement (much better than JM most of the time.
Strong sugar cane flavor but very smooth at the same time, perfect balance.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

A very smoky rum with a lingering finish that seems to coat my mouth with a buttery feeling. Slightly harsh, better with a dab of water

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Henry Mori from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Tastes like a whiskey! Smoky but not overly so. Long finish - taste really evolves/matures through the sipping process. Best mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Delicious nose with warm grass, oak, and caramel. It's really a pleasure to smell. Unfortunately, the palate goes another direction: saltwater and brine, with grass and subtle sweetness. Briney rums just don't do it for me. After time, some pepper emerges.

This IS more refined than Select Barrel, with more wood and less harshness. But the salt's just not my thing.

I'm not sure about this one as a sipper, but I'm sure it would make a killer Ti Punch.

8-, 7+ (might be 8- with a future tasting)

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Nice agricole rhum with woody, earthy cane flavor with dry notes. Definitely a sipper, just wish it wasn't so expensive. Complexity and smoothness on the palate affords this rum to be part of your rum collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Actually, until I read the reviews mentioning whisky, it hadn't occurred to me where the harshness was coming from. However, it definitely has a whisky like taste on top of the agricole.
After allowing the residuals to sit in your mouth for a bit, the sweetness of the sugarcane finally comes through. However, definitely not my usual style.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It's smokey and very thin, unlike the molasses-based industrial rums (which I prefer). Not bad for an agricole, almost pleasant in fact. Although it's not bad straight up, it's even better - astonishingly good - in a Mai Tai when paired with a dark Jamaican rum. I'm not a huge fan of this type of rum, but it's an important player in my Tiki recipes.