Posting your rating...
Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year rum

Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.2/10
94 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
17
31
34
7

Rate Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

94 Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

One of the first foursquare rums I tried. The port shines through but not in an obnoxious way. Sweet dark fruit, hints of all of your favorite baking spices and at a great price! The wax top is a nice added touch!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Henrik from Denmark with 53 ratings

This is a rum for my taste

Nose: wood, oil, apples and grapes
Pallet: burned sugar, wood, raisins, licorice and a fantastic balanced taste of port with a medium to long burn.

JD-test: 0-5 g/l sugar and 39,6 %ABV

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Nice molasses flavor with some oak as well. Enjoyed it at Rum Fest and had to buy a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Vincent from Netherlands with 20 ratings

I guess this rum is something you like or not at all. I feel the taste is too much cask.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Velmi příjemná vůně. Jde o výtečný mix propolisu, medu, včelích pláství, kokosu, máty, ale i těžce květinových a ovocných vůní (sušené borůvky), ke kterým se přidává i cedrové dřevo. (89 b)
Chuť: Vůně mě připravila na něco sladšího, takže při první ochutnávce jsem byl překvapen suchou chutí. Klasicky rumový projev s kůží, kakaovou suchostí, větrovou dřevitostí a opáleným dřevem v dozvuku. (85 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: Vliv portského bych nehádal a ani nepoznal. Baví mě víc svou vůní, v chuti neurazí. Pro ty, co hledají suchý rum, je to ideální volba. I když jsem spíš na sladší rumy, nákupu lahve nelituju.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Julien from Netherlands with 19 ratings

The port finish has a solid presence in the tasting. First stage of taste i found a bit "bitter grape-ey" followed by quite a strong middle flavor and a long very interesting lingering taste. I dont feel the port makes it overly sweet at all, especially since i donot like sweet rums. Very good sipper at 32 euros!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by 4finespirits from Germany with 1 rating

Good work from Barbados. The foursquare port cask finish nine years rum outsourced to its distillation for three years in American bourbon barrels. The distillate is then stored again for another six years in ex-Port Cask barrels.

Real fruity taste!

This rum got no additives, no sugar..

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

Port and rum, bad combination. A bit of port complexity washed away by alchool

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

This is what great rum should taste like. No added sugar or additives...just the brilliance of a master distiller (Richard Seale) doing what he does best. This just shows that you don't have to add 40 grams of sugar per liter to have a smooth and well tasting rum. Can't wait to try to Zinfandel Cask next!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

This is a wonderful rum , free of any artificial flavors. True craftsmanship! I like it best with ice in it.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I like this rum a lot. I enjoyed the port finish and think it gave the rum a great smoothness. I know some do not enjoy the port combination but for me it still had plenty of rum character and a nice finish with the port. I don't prefer many rums neat, but for me this one has the smoothness that lends itself to drinking straight. I was happy to see it available at a local store and will buy another to keep on hand when looking to enjoy a rum neat. This one works for me. Good pricing for a great product!