Posting your rating...
Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year rum

Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.2/10 (93 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
17
31
33
7

Rate Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

93 Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Very Unique, I have around 40 different rums in my cabinet and this one is a dead give away. Blind taste test is a piece of cake. You can taste the whiskey on the nose and if finishes with a nice port essence. Not sweet but just a fun and enjoyable libation to make you say, " Wow, like that stuff is pertty darn good, Man". Enjoy it is money well spent. I don't know how you could drink this any way but neat... let me know if u find something.. no don't do it man, i like it just the way it is...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Really light but sweet on the nose. Complex, slightly peppery on the tongue with an easy finish.

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted over 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Very tasty and well balanced rum with flavour dominated by sweetness from port barrels.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Richard Seale is at the forefront of "un-sugared, and un-manipulated rums", as many distilleries out there add sugar, molasses, and/or dyes to a rum before bottling. All sweetness that can be perceived in these rums comes from distillate character, and cask finishes (such as sweet wine casks). This one is finished in Port barrels for an added touch of sweetness.
I can definitely smell the melding of dry bourbon cask and sweet Port. It is well balanced and delicious, with semi-sweet toffee and vanilla, then caramelized sugar and some spicy oakiness. Its good. The complaint I heard from some is that it would do better at a higher proof, and Richard Seale responded by commenting "you're absolutely right, and so it will be around 45% for the next release". What an awesome guy. He actively comments on posts in his fan group on Facebook, check it out if you like.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

I find this rum delicate, yet powerful. It is not for neophytes. This rum is for connoisseurs, aficionados, enthusiast, in a word, this rum is for "US"! A depth of flavor, layers of perception. This is an introspective, questioning, alliance of dry and the essence of sweet. This is not sweet by any mean, but the "allure" of sweet is certainly present, buy

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andreas Bisgaard from Denmark with 27 ratings

Første FS rom. Jeg skal vende mig til smagen, men synes den smager rigtig godt. Kunne forstille mig, at hvis jeg skulle lave denne rating om et halvt år, så ville den få en eller to højere.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

I convince my self that the fine port barrel really was there, in the back of my mouth, but I may just be drunk, I don't know for sure. :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Lika bra som zinfandel. Äkta och rund, mycket smak.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It tastes like what you would expect. The sweetness from the port comes through early. The wine taste hits on the mid palette. The signature dry Seale's finish is there on the after taste the from the rum containing no added suger. It worth buying if you see it but not good enough to seek out.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

Smooth, with sweetness and lots of dried fruits. Complex

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Great rum. Starts with a vanilla on the nose, flavor is a hint of butterscotch. Not a heavy profile drink, easy to sip and has a mellow finish that tails off with a hint of spice and oak. The port tones down the finish and gives it a unique flavor that is very pleasing.