Posting your rating...
Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year rum

Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.2/10
94 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
17
32
33
7

Rate Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

94 Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Beautiful bronze reddish colour in the glass. The second maturation in the port cask the aromas ore not overpowering. Overall nicely balanced with a more fruity type notes coming up front. Taste is a bit light for a bajan rum but again is nicely balanced with fruity notes leading into more dark fruits, caramel, spice with plenty of tannins. Nice creamy mouthfeel. A nice sweetish dry finish.

Another great rum from Foursquare and wish I had bought another bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

This rum combines the benefits of Port and cane spirit. Its wide range of nuances in the nose goes from raisin and prune to slight chocolate and cookie all the way to tobacco and oaky notes.

The main palate carries port with surrounding seales 10. The aftermath is full, slightly sweet and very satisfying.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This is very good, but not exactly to my liking. Should I rate it lower for that? I don't think so. Just because I might have paid a little too much for a high end mixer, it won't be the first time. It won't stop me from trying the next Foursquare/Seale offering. They make a mean rum. Try them all, and you will easily like way more than you don't.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Nice and fruity nose with vanilla, banana, chocolate and a little bit of oak. Perhaps a bit of coffee as well, as it heats up in my palm. There's a very pleasant and fresh sweetness to it.
It has a nice and light texture in the mouth and an overall delicate expression, typical of many bajan rum.. The flavorful palette fits my bill with notes of juicy tropical fruits, ripe banana, vanilla and rounded oak. The finish ain't no explosion, but very nice with a lingering fruity, coffee sensation. This is exceptional value, if your into the non-sweetened, but very flavourful bajan rum's. One of my favorite styles.
This little port cask experiment from mr. seale turned out just right and I do hope more of this kind is on the way.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry.
i smell coffee, dried fruit and some spice.
i taste coffee too, some raisins and some grape. pepper notes, marzipan.
10/10 - subtract 5 points if you love the sweet stuff
one of the best.. a clean, light rum with a lot of flavour. dried fruit and of course the coffee note from the port aging. a good real rum to show you the taste of aging in a port wine cask!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

The aroma of port wine is immediately present and powerful, and so my senses were primed to taste aged port...but instead I got rum with very heavy port overtones. Now, I like port and I like rum, but not in the same glass. I don't feel that the flavors blended well to make one fine drink. Instead, there are two prominent and distinct profiles, and little harmony between them.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 332 ratings

Number two of the Foursquare's Exceptional Cask Series (ECS). Nine year old bottling that was stored for 3 years in Bourbon Cask and then for another 6 years in Port Cask.
Unfortunately bottled in 40%, that was common back then, believe it or not.

Smell: The nose is a bit subtle, I notice a lot of dried fruit, mainly red fruits, cranberries, cherries, raisins, blackberries. Some gum, similar to sherry, follows. In the background there is some bourbon wood aroma with a little vanilla and a darker barrel aroma. A good smell for the 9 years, but unfortunately the dilution has taken away a lot of the intensity. The rum may got nicely balanced as a result.

Taste: Thin start with burnt sugar, vanilla and some dried fruits (raisins, plums, some red fruit). Of course, the dilution is noticeable, but the flavors are good. It becomes woodier in the mouth, barrel aromas follow and also some tannins with wood. It also becomes astringent in the mouth, tannins in combination with dried fruit are now strongly present on the palate. Now we have the red fruit here.
In the finish, the sharpness increases, it teases the palate slightly. The tannins come out a little more and the oak now dominates the taste. The barrel aromas and dried fruits are still on the palate.

A nice Foursquare for only 9 years, I don't know whether that is the dilution or whether it was already good in barrel strength. It was definitely intense and quite good in cask strength.
The dilution took away a lot from it, but it offers nice complexity for the 9 years.
I'm not sure if I'd rather have this one or a simpler detente with more abv. I would go for the Detente, rum means intensity of flavors for me.
If diluted to 40%, then maybe sweetened so that the intensity remains correspondingly high.

Overall rating: 85 points

Sweetness: 1.5 / 5
Fruit: 3/5
Seasoning: 2.5 / 5
PL (50€): 3/5 meanwhile not available >500€

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 8 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 150 ratings

It’s amazing how high Foursquares standard continues to be. great nose, great taste.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Amazing rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a Foursquare Port Cask Finish. Decent bottle and label design. Bright golden color. Aged only 9y in Bourbon and Port Casks. Strong woody Whisky flavors to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Short and unmemorable ending. Whisky fan boys can add 2 points to my score.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Ikke4 from Netherlands with 3 ratings

This is my first finished rum, heartwarming absolutely stunning

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

As it was the first ECS in the states, it was an immediate positive reaction to my palate. I prefer to not have them aged in wine/port barrels but this one works very well for me.