Posting your rating...
Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year rum

Rate Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


88 Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Richard Seale is at the forefront of "un-sugared, and un-manipulated rums", as many distilleries out there add sugar, molasses, and/or dyes to a rum before bottling. All sweetness that can be perceived in these rums comes from distillate character, and cask finishes (such as sweet wine casks). This one is finished in Port barrels for an added touch of sweetness.
I can definitely smell the melding of dry bourbon cask and sweet Port. It is well balanced and delicious, with semi-sweet toffee and vanilla, then caramelized sugar and some spicy oakiness. Its good. The complaint I heard from some is that it would do better at a higher proof, and Richard Seale responded by commenting "you're absolutely right, and so it will be around 45% for the next release". What an awesome guy. He actively comments on posts in his fan group on Facebook, check it out if you like.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Dejlig og smagfuld og portvinsfadene gar givet en god rund eftersmag bedste fra Foursquare efter min mening.

Posted about 3 years ago by David-OC from United States with 3 ratings

Very good... color amber, flavor(s) already stated by multiple reviewers (true to form). Excellent rum, price... it's a no brainer. "Select Cask Selection..." Hugh thank you for doing the heavy lifting. Wonderful Rum... Cheers!

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

The port comes through in both the mouth and nose. Adding a touch of refinement the the usual bombastic and colorful palate of rum.

Smooth, spicy, wonderful.

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

This is a rum with no sugars added, and yet the nose has a very nice sweetness to it. Among the best value for money rums in its price range, that I have tasted.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

The port cask aging adds character to a classic Caribbean rum. The sweetness is balanced by notes of spice and oak. An easy sipper to add to the collection.

Posted about 3 years ago by Olivier from United Arab Emirates with 21 ratings

Une des meilleures surprise de mes dégustations. Des parfums de cherry et de bois. Top.

Posted about 3 years ago by Allan Bojesen from Denmark with 8 ratings

A nice rum with a distinct nose and taste of port. Long pleasant aftertaste, but overall to much port for my taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by vvv from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

You will need some time for finding all flavours of this rum. Burbon and Port taste is definitly there!

Posted over 3 years ago by Gabor Ertl from Hungary with 28 ratings

Kellemes, nem túlzott hordós íz, épp csak annyi alkoholos csípés ami kell a végén. A portói nem nyomasztó, inkább csak az édességben jön vissza. Közepes, de korrekt test. Illata igazi rumos, vanília, édeskés, enyén fás. Egyes tulajdonságai nem kiemelkedők, hanem az összhangjuk, ami zseniális. Ez a harmónia, ennyi pénzért, sok nagy nevet és évet maga mögé utasít. Nagyon ajánlom mindenkinek, amíg még van.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I am a big fan of the "Exceptional Cask Selection" releases from Foursqure and Mr. Seale. At sub-$40, this port barrel-finished rum is the best value of the bunch. It does require a few minutes in the glass to breathe and open up, but once it does, it is beautifully balanced. Naturally balanced sweetness, with the slightest hint of port on the nose and palate. Very deep... pour this into a proper glass and get lost in the nose. My biggest complaint is the meager 80 proof (c'mon, Rich! Though I guess I could blend with some 2004...). Still, a tremendous value for a world-class rum!

9-, 9 (former rating: 8+). If it were 45%+, 9+.

Posted over 3 years ago by DocRoe from United States with 4 ratings

A really well balanced aged rum, not too heavy on the barrel or the port. Medium bodied on the pallet and lightly sweet. The aroma of toffee, oak, vanilla, and light port is fantastic.

Posted over 3 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Truly fantastic - its true about this one.
Recommended

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans Kristensen from Denmark with 30 ratings

Rigtig lækker rom, en rigtig hyggerom - helt klart en favorit

Posted over 3 years ago by Anders Skjødt Hansen from Denmark with 65 ratings

Duft: vanilje, karamel, tørret frugt dejlig sød duft med en smule fad ingen sprit.
Smag: en smule sprit. Tør og sød på samme tid. Der er en del fad. slutter med en bitter chokoladesmag

Posted over 3 years ago by Fernando from Spain with 5 ratings

Beautiful and balanced. A good rum with a sweet aftertaste thanks to the port cask.. enjoy it

Posted over 3 years ago by Henrik from Denmark with 53 ratings

This is a rum for my taste

Nose: wood, oil, apples and grapes
Pallet: burned sugar, wood, raisins, licorice and a fantastic balanced taste of port with a medium to long burn.

JD-test: 0-5 g/l sugar and 39,6 %ABV

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Nice molasses flavor with some oak as well. Enjoyed it at Rum Fest and had to buy a bottle.

Posted over 3 years ago by Vincent from Netherlands with 20 ratings

I guess this rum is something you like or not at all. I feel the taste is too much cask.

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Velmi příjemná vůně. Jde o výtečný mix propolisu, medu, včelích pláství, kokosu, máty, ale i těžce květinových a ovocných vůní (sušené borůvky), ke kterým se přidává i cedrové dřevo. (89 b)
Chuť: Vůně mě připravila na něco sladšího, takže při první ochutnávce jsem byl překvapen suchou chutí. Klasicky rumový projev s kůží, kakaovou suchostí, větrovou dřevitostí a opáleným dřevem v dozvuku. (85 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: Vliv portského bych nehádal a ani nepoznal. Baví mě víc svou vůní, v chuti neurazí. Pro ty, co hledají suchý rum, je to ideální volba. I když jsem spíš na sladší rumy, nákupu lahve nelituju.

Posted over 3 years ago by Julien from Netherlands with 19 ratings

The port finish has a solid presence in the tasting. First stage of taste i found a bit "bitter grape-ey" followed by quite a strong middle flavor and a long very interesting lingering taste. I dont feel the port makes it overly sweet at all, especially since i donot like sweet rums. Very good sipper at 32 euros!

Posted over 3 years ago by 4finespirits from Germany with 1 rating

Good work from Barbados. The foursquare port cask finish nine years rum outsourced to its distillation for three years in American bourbon barrels. The distillate is then stored again for another six years in ex-Port Cask barrels.

Real fruity taste!

This rum got no additives, no sugar..

Posted over 3 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

Port and rum, bad combination. A bit of port complexity washed away by alchool

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is what great rum should taste like. No added sugar or additives...just the brilliance of a master distiller (Richard Seale) doing what he does best. This just shows that you don't have to add 40 grams of sugar per liter to have a smooth and well tasting rum. Can't wait to try to Zinfandel Cask next!

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

This is a wonderful rum , free of any artificial flavors. True craftsmanship! I like it best with ice in it.