Posting your rating...
Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year rum

Rate Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


88 Foursquare Port Cask Finish 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumfreund from Germany with 1 rating

Der perfekte Rum um ein Tasting zu beginnen! Perfect Rum to start a rum tasting!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

One of the first foursquare rums I tried. The port shines through but not in an obnoxious way. Sweet dark fruit, hints of all of your favorite baking spices and at a great price! The wax top is a nice added touch!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Really light but sweet on the nose. Complex, slightly peppery on the tongue with an easy finish.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Very tasty and well balanced rum with flavour dominated by sweetness from port barrels.
Will sure give it another try and maybe rate higher after that.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Richard Seale is at the forefront of "un-sugared, and un-manipulated rums", as many distilleries out there add sugar, molasses, and/or dyes to a rum before bottling. All sweetness that can be perceived in these rums comes from distillate character, and cask finishes (such as sweet wine casks). This one is finished in Port barrels for an added touch of sweetness.
I can definitely smell the melding of dry bourbon cask and sweet Port. It is well balanced and delicious, with semi-sweet toffee and vanilla, then caramelized sugar and some spicy oakiness. Its good. The complaint I heard from some is that it would do better at a higher proof, and Richard Seale responded by commenting "you're absolutely right, and so it will be around 45% for the next release". What an awesome guy. He actively comments on posts in his fan group on Facebook, check it out if you like.

Posted about 2 years ago by Andreas Bisgaard from Denmark with 27 ratings

Første FS rom. Jeg skal vende mig til smagen, men synes den smager rigtig godt. Kunne forstille mig, at hvis jeg skulle lave denne rating om et halvt år, så ville den få en eller to højere.

Posted about 2 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Lika bra som zinfandel. Äkta och rund, mycket smak.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It tastes like what you would expect. The sweetness from the port comes through early. The wine taste hits on the mid palette. The signature dry Seale's finish is there on the after taste the from the rum containing no added suger. It worth buying if you see it but not good enough to seek out.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

Smooth, with sweetness and lots of dried fruits. Complex

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Great rum. Starts with a vanilla on the nose, flavor is a hint of butterscotch. Not a heavy profile drink, easy to sip and has a mellow finish that tails off with a hint of spice and oak. The port tones down the finish and gives it a unique flavor that is very pleasing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

A like when the rums are finished in casks after madeira, port, sherry, whatever... it always provides some new interesting tones. This port finish is especially present in the aroma, sweet tones of the taste and overall making the rum very delightful.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This shows what you can do to make rum special without adding extra sugar. That Auburn looking liquid strongly evokes the port cask it was aged in. It also has port notes of rich ripe fruit in it, bringing flavours and sensations to the rum you won't have had before. A small tip when you do crack a bottle and pour your first glass, let it sit awhile, 5 or so minutes. Otherwise it will really beat you up. You can also add a drop of water to open it up. A must have for any rum connoisseur.

Posted over 2 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Salty, sour. I found it difficult to find anything to get attached to.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Encore trouvable à 45€ en france il ne faut pas passer à côté. Une bonne occasion de découvrir les vrais rhums traditionnels pour ceux qui viennent des rhums trafiqués marketing mais aussi ceux qui ne jurent que par l'agricole

Posted almost 3 years ago by puml from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Výrazná vůně - vanilka, dřevo, třešně, čokoláda aj. V chuti jemný, ne moc sladký, lehce karamelový. Finiš také jemný, dlouhotrvající, ovocitý - jahody, fíky, ananas a to portské tam snad taky někde je... Zatím mi spíše chutnaly sladší rumy, z velké většiny doslazované, ale tenhle nedoslazovaný kousek opravdu stojí za to a za tu cenu cca 1000,- je to bezkonkurenční rum, i když láhev působí celkem nevýrazně. 82/100.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Craig from United States with 12 ratings

The nose of rhisbrum is fantastic. Has a great aroma. Rum is sweet but not sweet in a bad way. It has a distinct port flavor which adds to the complex overall profile.

Posted almost 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

An amazing sipper. It's like a drier Dos Madaras PX 5*5 except less sweet. Can't wait to finish off this bottle. Sad I couldn't buy more.

Posted almost 3 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Le nez est doux et plutôt discret, et est porté par un duo vanille/boisé accompagné de certains fruits (cassis, cerise).
L’attaque est douce en bouche et confirmera les mêmes saveurs.
La finale est légèrement boisée et nous laisse avec une impression de gâteau pâtissier.
Ce n’est pas un mauvais rhum mais trop gourmand pour mon gout.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Anything from Foursquare is normally very good and this is no exception.. Lovely fruity aroma with black cherries prominant I think. Leave to evaporate the vapours for 5 mins. Just the right amount of port for me with a slightly smokey finish. I also got the other two in the cask series for my birthday so happy days for a while yet !

Posted almost 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

Got the chance to compare this one to the more expensive Zinfandel cask and 2004 Bourbon cask and I have to say this one blew those out of the water. Reminded me a bit of the Mount Gay Black Barrel (as it does have significant bourbon barrel aging) but definitely a step above. Wouldn't say it's especially complex but taking into account the price point it really does a good job.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Really smooth with lots of flavor. No burn. A little port flavor finish.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 374 ratings

This is a fun rum that's very casky and delightful in flavour.

Posted about 3 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

I really like this one, and a best buy, hard to find a medium dry (in my opinion) rum at this price, maybe not even possible, will suit Malt whisky drinkers perfectly.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I really like this rum. Smooth and enjoyable neat. I will try it again this weekend with just a little water and then on the rocks and will update my comments after.