Posting your rating...
Barbancourt Estate Reserve 15-Year rum

Barbancourt Estate Reserve 15-Year

Haiti | Aged

7.3/10 (63 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
2
6
16
21
11
3

Rate Barbancourt Estate Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


63 Barbancourt Estate Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Would but again. What else can I person say but I'd buy again

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

This should be it! Dry, yet balanced and smooth. I don't care for the other agricoles I've tried and in general enjoy dry rums, but wow this is well done!

edited to add sugar test results- 6g

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A very nice aroma in the bottle. Hints of sweetness. The flavor is wonderful with butterscotch notes and a warmth to it rather than a harsh burn. I detect some woodiness to it but not really a strong oak so I'm not sure what they aged it in although I have read they aged it in rather large barrels. A tongue tingler for certain. A very good rum. Wished they had used a cork rather than a cheap screwcap.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by JGiralt from United States with 73 ratings

Smooth on the pallet. Candied pineapple, clove, and dried orange

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

Don't bother with the 8 Year. Drop the few extra bucks and get this. It's lightyears better than the 8 year; there's no comparison. Indeed, I would venture to say, that unless you can get your hands on a bottle of La Favorite Le Filibuste, don't bother with any other Aged French Agricole Rum. This beats them all by a country mile. In fact, this was the rum that started my life-long love of rum. My grandfather used to keep a bottle of this in a hidden trapdoor cabinet. One day as a teenager some 25 years ago I discovered the trapdoor and this was the first spirit I ever tried...and it blew me away. Instantly, my mind said "yes this is what you want". Yet because of my youth and the passage of time I forgot which variation of Barbancourt it was. So for many years I searched for the spirit that had started it all, but was lost. About 5 years ago I bought a bottle the 5 Star 8 Year thinking it may have been that. However to my dismay, not only was it not what I was thinking of, I disliked it intensely. So I went online and inquired. Other aficionados insisted that I must have had some old pre-earthquake Barbancourt that was no longer in production. So I lost hope. Luckily about a week ago I came across a review of this rum that sounded exactly what I remembered experiencing those many years ago. For a week I seesawed back and forth on whether to drop $50 on a rum whose younger sibling I knew I didn't like and who others insisted no longed existed. Well, my friends...I took that risk and it paid off in spades. I brought this home, unscrewed the cap, took a whiff and the memories of my grandfathers hidden cabinet came rushing back in waves. I knew I had found my long lost first love. So lets begin and lets review this rum right.

First, let's start with some facts. This is a true pure Agricole Rhum slow-aged for 15 years in French Limousin Oak Casks. It is unadulterated and the age statement is one of fact without nuance. This is not a Solera or a mix of rums with different ages. Its is a true full 15 year aged rum, so you will want to let this sit for at least 15 minutes before drinking it. If you drink this straight immediately after opening the bottle it will probably be too intense - unless you are into that kind thing.

The journey starts with the nose which is a flawless harmony of Vanilla, Sherried Oranges, Brown Figs, and old Mahogany furniture. Its almost like you are smelling French colonial history in your glass. It is marvelous and there is no other rum like it anywhere. But these mild fruit notes belie the intensity thats about to hit your palate. On the palate you get a rush of oak but not of the bourbon kind, rather more of a peppery oak like cognac. That begins to dissipate into a creamy mix of vanilla and orange peel which is both sweet and yet not at the same time. The orange peel then fades into notes of lemon, cane juice, and dates before finishing with notes of white peppercorns. While the individual notes are subtle, their combination is rather intense. The aftertaste, or finish, leaves a coolness in the mouth that I have only otherwise experienced with White Agricoles, while notes of old Mahogany furniture and Cognac linger. Finally, there is an after-essence of oranges and eggnog. The entire presentation is chest warming and at times rather intense, but it walks that line almost perfectly. This is a far, far smoother and more refined rum than its younger brothers. This rum was designed to be sipped slowly savored. If you need to dial down the intensity of it, it is almost flawless over an iceball. You probably could mix with this and make cocktails fit for King Louis, but please don't do that - that would be a waste of this gem of a sipping rum. It's almost like a fine cognac in a way, but this far better than any cognac I have ever had (though that may just be my bias for rum).

At $48 for an unaltered, untouched, true, pure fine Agricole slow-aged 15 years in Limousin oak, you will not find a better price for an aged French style rum of this quality.

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 9
Price: 9

Total: 9.5

*Post edit 11/2020* Coming back to this rum the intensity of the spiciness on the backend has dissipated, which was my sole concern previously. This last experience with this rum was absolutely flawless and took me to "10" paradise. I am upgrading the score accordingly. This is an almost perfect rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Rumcommy20 from United States with 1 rating

A sweet aroma, taste is bold but not overpowering with a smooth finish. Best served neat over rocks with a Cohiba nearby. The best with the best; truly world class!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Will never NOT have one in my house. Very interesting flavor that's almost like a Rhum agricole. Very much enjoy it.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Tim from Canada with 64 ratings

This is very nice. I’d heard that the quality had dropped off due to the horror show the last decade+ has visited on Haiti, but I’m very impressed with this. A good entree point for people curious about agricole rhum as I find a very nice balance between sweet and dry; grass and fruit! Santé!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mipresser from United States with 11 ratings

Found this and was impressed by the deep fruity taste without too much sweetness. Will be my regular go-to rhum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 8-10 gpl. To me it seemed that the blender added some form of sweetener to soften the Agricole bite in this rum. Okay taste with wood, caramel but it tasted like they added sweet n low to the blend leaving a what is that taste. Good mixer, but not a sipping rum for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

The thing is how many times are you in Hati. So not exactly the easiest to find but one to grab if you can smooth and nice.