Posting your rating...
Clement 6-Year rum

Rate Clement 6-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Clement 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Agricole is slowly becoming one of my favorite styles. It can offer such a beautiful mixture of complexity and dry delicacy with a natural sweetness to die for. I eagerly dive in. The Clement 6 year has a very floral and grassy nose. It´s a little spicy with notes of pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugarcane and oaky tannin's. Very intriguing nose. The taste struggles a bit compared to the nose. The profile of notes is similar to the nose, but the balance just tilts a tad in the acidic direction. Given the money it's nice, but the depaz vieux fx. offers better value in my book.

Posted almost 2 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

But that's easily the best part. Cinnamon, grass, flowers, pepper, wood, A bit hotter than I expected, but still nice.

Posted almost 4 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Je m’attendais à mieux. J’aime les rhums agricoles, leurs chaleurs et leurs caractères sec pourtant ce 6 ans d’âge m’a un peu déçu. Il a des saveurs florales intéressantes mais l’alcool y est quand même très dominant. Dans la même gamme de prix, le hors d’âge qu’un ami m’a fait gouter est vraiment supérieur.
I expected better. I like agricultural rums, their warmth and dry character, yet the 6 years old disappointed me. It has an interesting floral taste but alcohol is still very dominant. In the same price range, the hors d’age is really superior.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a decent rum. I prefer it to the Clement VSOP, but it's a little hot at 44%abv.

The smell is really nice. Has a strong floral note, with honeysuckle, sugarcane, oak, and cinnamon. Taste is similar, but I don't think it should be 44%abv (to me, only top shelf rums should be this strong).

I definitely prefer it to the Clement VSOP, but it's a little too expensive to justify the $56.99 price (Beltramo Wines 2015). My score does not factor in the price.

Posted over 6 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

A delicious agricole. Bright and bitey first note and nice sweet finish. Worth being a bar.

Posted 23 days ago by sergiulescu from Romania with 6 ratings

...doesn't impress at all. The spirit aftertaste is too much!

Posted 9 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Rum agricole are not the ones i prefer. This rum is to dry for me as agricole is. Can not appreciate the taste

Posted 9 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

I’m slowly being to appreciate argicole rums. It’s very well priced and really delivers wonderful complex aromas without any sweet.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tim from Canada with 55 ratings

Smooth, but with a oakiness to offset the grassy agricole punch. Dry, good sipper

Posted about 1 year ago by Bernie from Germany with 28 ratings

Im Rahmen eines Rumtastings getestet.
Im Aroma ist er fruchtig und würzig, im Geschmack ausgewogen. Der Körper ist cremig, ölig. Allerdings ist dieser Rum geschmacklich ungewöhnlich hart im Abgang. Mir ist der Abgang zu hart, deshalb kein Kauf für mich.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pirateforlife from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

No bad, no great just a clement. I think this one is made, aged and bottle in Martinique, but be careful some of Clement’s Rhum are bottle in France and not worth the UK price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Add 3 points to the score if you like Rhum Agricole's. I don't fancy the Clement 6 year at all since it is way too dry for my taste. It is a rather flavorful Rhum Agricole in general terms, but not my cup of tea. There is quite a strong burn at the end. It's not bad at all, but deserves a score of 4, nothing more.

Posted about 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I was really hoping for something special and I must have picked up the wrong bottle. I couldn’t tell if it was aged. It has that diesel fuel ⛽️ taste straight. I tried with coke and I just can’t do it. Fortunately, my liquor store will take it back. No spice no age no sweetness.

Just a footnote. Rhum Agricole French and Haitian. These types of rum are not cane based rums and would taste very dry. Cane syrup would need to be added. So if you are use to cane based aged rums, don’t buy it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

The island of Martinique will always hold a special place in my heart, having been there a few times. As your cruise ship approaches Fort De France with your jam box recording island music, the radio stations scream the hint, "We are French! We are very different from the other Caribbean islands!". Indeed they are! As one walks through the downtown area with the shops, all have the same radio station on and the music is all in sync with one another.

And their rhums are also very different from the rest of the Caribbean. I have personally never yet found one that I like until now. There were memories of getting sloshed on Ti Punch made with rhum agricole blanc while trying to keep our balance on a party boat. Definitely not for sipping! Then there are the really awful ones like St. James and Negrita. Through this website, I found out that Clement has the best, but most were way out of my price range.

I made the trek to my favorite well stocked budget liquor store this morning in hopes of buying a bottle of their VSOP. They were out of it, but had this 6 year old. To my pleasant surprised, it was priced right at my $50 per bottle limit. I had not even read the reviews for this one, so I assumed that it is better than the VSOP and bought it.

It has quite a kick at 44% ABV and does not sit well on the tongue being served neat. I added two ice cubes and let it sit for a few minutes. Ah, no more burn and the flavors come out. This is the only way to drink this rhum! The distiller probably increased the ABV knowing that most will want to serve this on the rocks in their hot tropical climate. Some have compared this to a bourbon and I strongly disagree. I would compare it to Lowlands Single Malt Scotches like Glenkinchie and Auchentoshan, but with a very subtle sweetness added to it's grassy and herbal flavors. There appears to be no added sugar, so all of the purists may really like this one. However, when I broke the seal, I was shocked to find a simple plastic screw on cap instead of a real cork. So, yes I would say that this rhum is over priced. Being different does not come cheap.

After note: Since the music of the FWI's is what brought me down there to visit several times and most of you have probably never heard of these legendary musical artists, I will suggest some of the most popular ones to accompany your Martinquan rhum drinking: Kassav, Djo Dezormo, and DeDe St. Prix. I have personally met members of all three groups and besides being wonderful human beings, all are downright perfectionists when it comes to their music.

Posted over 2 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

Reliable stopper. Too wide a bottle - it's uncomfortable to hold in your hand.
Aroma is complex and sweet: prune, wood, tobacco, spices, background alcohol.
The taste is woody and burning.
Aggressive pressure on the stomach and the head. However it makes a good mood and a feeling of self-sufficiency. No desire to move to another rum.
In large numbers will make the morning unkind.

Posted over 3 years ago by Little from Belgium with 17 ratings

When I started drinking rum, that the first non-basic rum that I recevied.
When I got it, it was the best I ever tasted. Now that I have a bit more experience, this one is fine but not more.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay Rogers from United States with 10 ratings

OK, to be clear, I mix all my rums with Diet Dr. Pepper. So my ratings are a bit diluted, but this is how I enjoy my rum. I mix 1 shot glass with one 12 oz. can. Try to used cans, i.e. 2-liters don't taste the same. I really enjoy this rum. It is strong and complex is a good way. It seems to change flavors and aromas as you drink it. Not to sweet, not to dry, and offers a good "tickling - flavorful - burn" that is addictive. Since it is very-very flavorful, I could use just a half of a shot glass full and achieve the same pleasurable flavors. I try a lot of rums, and this is a must have for your bucket list to try.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Decent flavour nice touch . Knows a decent French rum

Posted almost 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

I had it straight up. Not a rum that I will remember for a long time...
Not a lot of taste. No pleasant aftertaste.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Il s'agit d'un assemblage de rhums ayant au moins 6 ans d'âge, ma bouteille porte la mention XO.
Bouteille : design standard de chez Clément, élégant et sobre. Le rhum a une couleur vieil or.
Nez : arômes de fruits, d'épices et d'alcool (ce rhum titre 42°).
Bouche : attaque douce, fruitée puis dominante de notes boisées, torréfiées et de fruits secs.
Finale : Belle longueur en bouche avec un petit arrière goût de chocolat, vraiment agréable.
Ce rhum mérite de reposer un peu avant la dégustation, pour éviter le goût d'alcool.
Une bonne surprise que ce Clément 6 ans.

Posted about 4 years ago by Thomas from France with 22 ratings

C est un bon rhum sans grande surprise. Ce n est pas un indispensable. Juste une evolution du vsop

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

Es un ron diferente, se nota que su elaboración es original pero no logra ser un producto Top. Es dulce y se siente el alcohol.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Color: beautiful rich amber
Aroma: bit grassy and somewhat astringent
Flavor: grassy and a bit funky...very dry...some burn...slight caramel aftertaste
Overall it's just a tad harsh for me (44%ABV - 88 proof)...others, especially those who enjoy scotch, might like this as a sipping rum...I prefer it in Coke Zero. I expect this would work well in mixed drinks. Perhaps a counter to sweet fruit-based cocktails.

This is a solid rum. Very versatile.

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

just not that nice for sipping. clement xo, now that is another story. the best.