Posting your rating...
Clement 6-Year rum

Clement 6-Year

Martinique | Agricole

6.0/10 (30 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
3
9
8
3
1

Rate Clement 6-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Clement 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pirateforlife from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

No bad, no great just a clement. I think this one is made, aged and bottle in Martinique, but be careful some of Clement’s Rhum are bottle in France and not worth the UK price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Add 3 points to the score if you like Rhum Agricole's. I don't fancy the Clement 6 year at all since it is way too dry for my taste. It is a rather flavorful Rhum Agricole in general terms, but not my cup of tea. There is quite a strong burn at the end. It's not bad at all, but deserves a score of 4, nothing more.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I was really hoping for something special and I must have picked up the wrong bottle. I couldn’t tell if it was aged. It has that diesel fuel ⛽️ taste straight. I tried with coke and I just can’t do it. Fortunately, my liquor store will take it back. No spice no age no sweetness.

Just a footnote. Rhum Agricole French and Haitian. These types of rum are not cane based rums and would taste very dry. Cane syrup would need to be added. So if you are use to cane based aged rums, don’t buy it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

The island of Martinique will always hold a special place in my heart, having been there a few times. As your cruise ship approaches Fort De France with your jam box recording island music, the radio stations scream the hint, "We are French! We are very different from the other Caribbean islands!". Indeed they are! As one walks through the downtown area with the shops, all have the same radio station on and the music is all in sync with one another.

And their rhums are also very different from the rest of the Caribbean. I have personally never yet found one that I like until now. There were memories of getting sloshed on Ti Punch made with rhum agricole blanc while trying to keep our balance on a party boat. Definitely not for sipping! Then there are the really awful ones like St. James and Negrita. Through this website, I found out that Clement has the best, but most were way out of my price range.

I made the trek to my favorite well stocked budget liquor store this morning in hopes of buying a bottle of their VSOP. They were out of it, but had this 6 year old. To my pleasant surprised, it was priced right at my $50 per bottle limit. I had not even read the reviews for this one, so I assumed that it is better than the VSOP and bought it.

It has quite a kick at 44% ABV and does not sit well on the tongue being served neat. I added two ice cubes and let it sit for a few minutes. Ah, no more burn and the flavors come out. This is the only way to drink this rhum! The distiller probably increased the ABV knowing that most will want to serve this on the rocks in their hot tropical climate. Some have compared this to a bourbon and I strongly disagree. I would compare it to Lowlands Single Malt Scotches like Glenkinchie and Auchentoshan, but with a very subtle sweetness added to it's grassy and herbal flavors. There appears to be no added sugar, so all of the purists may really like this one. However, when I broke the seal, I was shocked to find a simple plastic screw on cap instead of a real cork. So, yes I would say that this rhum is over priced. Being different does not come cheap.

After note: Since the music of the FWI's is what brought me down there to visit several times and most of you have probably never heard of these legendary musical artists, I will suggest some of the most popular ones to accompany your Martinquan rhum drinking: Kassav, Djo Dezormo, and DeDe St. Prix. I have personally met members of all three groups and besides being wonderful human beings, all are downright perfectionists when it comes to their music.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 148 ratings

Reliable stopper. Too wide a bottle - it's uncomfortable to hold in your hand.
Aroma is complex and sweet: prune, wood, tobacco, spices, background alcohol.
The taste is woody and burning.
Aggressive pressure on the stomach and the head. However it makes a good mood and a feeling of self-sufficiency. No desire to move to another rum.
In large numbers will make the morning unkind.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Little from Belgium with 17 ratings

When I started drinking rum, that the first non-basic rum that I recevied.
When I got it, it was the best I ever tasted. Now that I have a bit more experience, this one is fine but not more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jay Rogers from United States with 10 ratings

OK, to be clear, I mix all my rums with Diet Dr. Pepper. So my ratings are a bit diluted, but this is how I enjoy my rum. I mix 1 shot glass with one 12 oz. can. Try to used cans, i.e. 2-liters don't taste the same. I really enjoy this rum. It is strong and complex is a good way. It seems to change flavors and aromas as you drink it. Not to sweet, not to dry, and offers a good "tickling - flavorful - burn" that is addictive. Since it is very-very flavorful, I could use just a half of a shot glass full and achieve the same pleasurable flavors. I try a lot of rums, and this is a must have for your bucket list to try.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

Decent flavour nice touch . Knows a decent French rum

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

I had it straight up. Not a rum that I will remember for a long time...
Not a lot of taste. No pleasant aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from Réunion with 153 ratings

Il s'agit d'un assemblage de rhums ayant au moins 6 ans d'âge, ma bouteille porte la mention XO.
Bouteille : design standard de chez Clément, élégant et sobre. Le rhum a une couleur vieil or.
Nez : arômes de fruits, d'épices et d'alcool (ce rhum titre 42°).
Bouche : attaque douce, fruitée puis dominante de notes boisées, torréfiées et de fruits secs.
Finale : Belle longueur en bouche avec un petit arrière goût de chocolat, vraiment agréable.
Ce rhum mérite de reposer un peu avant la dégustation, pour éviter le goût d'alcool.
Une bonne surprise que ce Clément 6 ans.