Posting your rating...
Koloa Coconut rum

Koloa Coconut

United States | Flavored

Koloa Coconut rum, a version of their White Rum with natural coconut flavor added. Bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.7/10 (16 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
6
4

Rate Koloa Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Koloa Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

After reading reviews from "experts" proclaiming this to be the best coconut rum on the market, I knew I had to order a bottle for my wife who loves coconut rum (ever since she sampled Ron Ricardo coconut rum in the Bahamas). This coconut rum comes in at 80 proof which is higher than most coconut rums. This rum is flavored with natural coconut and you can definitely smell the coconut in the bottle. Not a coconut extract smell but a real, freshly-grated coconut aroma. Whereas the coconut rums I have tasted thus far overdo it on the coconut flavor, the Koloa coconut seems to have found the proper balance between the sugar cane flavor and the coconut flavor. They complement each other rather than the coconut overpowering it. The thing I found most interesting is that even though it is 80 proof there is hardly any burn to this rum but don't let it fool you. It will sneak up on you and kick you square in the butt if you are not careful. This could work as a sipping rum if you really like coconut. This also works beautifully in tropical drinks calling for coconut and rum.

If there is a better coconut rum anywhere in the world, I'd like to know about it but I have a feeling one does not exist. For coconut rum aficionados, this is the ultimate.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

I am not a fan of coconut so I have never had a coconut rum that I have liked, but now found one. The coconut aroma is definitely there, but the coconut doesn't over power the taste. I only had one glass and I would love to get a bottle of this stuff so that I could give it another try. If you like coconut rum, you have to try koloa coconut.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

No matter what brand of coconut rum you're drinking, I guarantee you it's nowhere nearly as delicious and authentic as this Koloa Coconut. The stuff at your local liquor store is made with parrot urine and old cigarettes. This rum, on the other hand, is made with real coconut and real rum. Nothing else comes close. You owe it to yourself to do whatever it takes to make this rum a part of your collection. Moving to Hawaii is a reasonable option.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles Clarke from United States with 4 ratings

To be honest I'm really not much on flavored rum. Aside from Plantation Stiggins Fancy Pineapple and this I'd rather just enjoy my rum rum-flavored. When most people coconut rum day think Mailibu. If you desire something sweet like Malibu (at only 21 APV it's more liqueur that rum) you may be disappointed. I, on the other hand, was pleasantly surprised by just how good this tasted. At 80 proof it's an actual rum, unlike most coconut rums out there. The sweet stuff is usually around 40 proof and the others come in around 70 proof. I've had a few and many are quite tasty. But this stuff is the real deal. I highly recommend, even if flavored rums aren't your thing.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is the best coconut rum I've tried, and I've had a lot. A great coconut flavor, and a perfect strength at 40%abv.
I only rate it a 7 because I much prefer aged rums to flavored rums. If you like coconut rum, it doesn't get any better than this!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

This is the best coconut rum I have ever tasted - top of the list.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 134 ratings

I bought a 5 bottle sample pack of Koloa rum. This one is FAR superior to any of the others. Best Koloa rum without question. I will go further, this is definitely one of the best coconut rums available anywhere. Top shelf in that category. So much better than Siesta Key, Malibu or Parrot Bay. Very nice, smooth with coconut that tastes natural. Not too sweet. Great finish. Definitely good enough to sip. Great on ice. maikaʻi loa!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Seb from Canada with 38 ratings

Nice sipper with balanced coconut taste, not fake or overpowering. Hawaii in the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Trogdog from United States with 13 ratings

But this wasn't bad. I'd drink it again, but would probably mix it in a rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Clem from United States with 11 ratings

This is my favorite coconut rum. It has an outstanding authentic coconut flavor and isn't overly sweet like the more common ones. Wonderful for tiki drinks.