Posting your rating...
Koloa Coconut rum

Koloa Coconut

United States | Flavored

Koloa Coconut rum, a version of their White Rum with natural coconut flavor added. Bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.7/10
16 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
6
4

Rate Koloa Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

16 Koloa Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

This is the best coconut rum I have ever tasted - top of the list.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 68 ratings

I was the Sugarcane Bar in the Venetian on the Strip which is an exceptional Rum Bar and I asked their well trained Mixoligist surprise me and this is one of 2 rums he served. After tasting then having a mixed fruit drink with it I am hooked! It is thus far with out a doubt the best Coconut Rum there is. It is a must taste and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Monkeyman from United States with 1 rating

Solid tasting coconut rum with a higher abv than most. Not much too it other than that. If you like coconut then you need to try this.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2732 ratings

Koloa Kaua'i Coconut is simply stunning. Very hard to find, but what a gem. Nice old school label design. Clear color, but you can see the coconut in it floating around, so its not crystal clear. The most amazing fresh coconut straight to your nose and palate. Just smooth rum without any burn although its 80 proof. Beats the already amazing Siesta Key Toasted Coconut by one point.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by WelterWeight from United States with 3 ratings

Love using this rum in my tiki drinks. A great sub for coco flavor without using all the sweet creams.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

When I was in Kauai exactly one year ago, I could have visited the distillery located on an expansive plantation only a couple of miles away from where I was staying. Instead, I chose their cheapest white rum on the last day to be consumed in my hotel room and was not impressed at all. Needless to say, I did not bring home a bottle of this toasted coconut rum and only found out about it's high rating once I got back home. I finally found a bottle back at home.

I also found a bottle of the highly rated Siesta Key Toasted Coconut Rum, so this Koloa Toasted Coconut Rum was tasted in a side by side test against the one from Siesta Key. Two different animals! This one is clear and the Siesta Key is amber. This one is 80 proof and the Siesta Key is 70 proof. This one only has toasted coconut, but the Siesta Key adds honey, which also lowers the proof.

Tasting this Koloa Toasted Coconut Rum neat is the ultimate tropical island experience. One could be surrounded by ugly skyscrapers, but just put on some old time Hawaiian music or steel pan Caribbean music, close your eyes, and then sip on this rum. You will be transported to memories of crystal clear blue waters in the tropics with breezes shaking the leaves of the coconut palm trees. No other rum is capable of evoking this feeling!!! Now for those who hate the taste of coconut, the much more subdued taste from Siesta Key should also work. Since I have never encountered bees on tropical beaches, adding honey to the Siesta Key Toasted Coconut Rum just does not evoke the same feelings as this Koloa.

Both are very good toasted coconut rums but I only rate this one as as a 7 because it still did not quite make it into my top 10 with ratings of 8 to 10. Basically, if you want very pronounced coconut flavor, choose this Kola. If you want your coconut flavor subdued, then choose the Siesta Key. Both can be served neat, on the rocks, or mixed.

Update: For those of you who love Almond Joy and Mounds candy bars, I now present the adult version drink of those. Since Vizcaya Cristal is the only light rum to have after notes of chocolate and vanilla, this one was chosen for this unique drink. Simply mix equal parts Koloa Toasted Coconut Rum with Vizcaya Cristal Rum and ABSOLUTELY NO SUBSTITUTES. One can sip it as an 80 proof candy bar drink or add ice or or blend it with Haagen Dazs Vanilla Ice Cream. If you want some almond flavor, just add a dash of Amaretto.

And whatever you do, don't get any crazy ideas like I tried with pouring 8-9 ounces of this rum into an empty Fiji water bottle to stick in the freezer for a few days. My dream of bringing this ice cold rum to one of my favorite nearby islands for the day only obliterated the coconut flavors. Good thing that I checked on the taste before making the trek. Luckily, after allowing the bottle to get back to island temperatures, the coconut flavors returned. This rum needs to be served neat at tropical island temperatures. Why of course! It was distilled in Kauai!

Update March 24, 2020: I have since found a much better coconut rum from Brinley Gold Shipwreck from St. Kitts. No contest! The St. Kitts coconut rum blows this one from Kauai out of the water. On the rocks, I actually had to add a couple of drops of Angostura Bitters to make this one drinkable. Sorry, but no more rum from Koloa in Kauai for me. I absolutely love that island, but not any of their rums.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

Unlike Malibu which is 90% sugar and 10% rum, Koloa Coconut is a full strength white rum infused with coconut. This is a mixer, to be sure, but in a pinch, a few ice cubes and a squeeze of lime would make this a fine refresher on a hot day.