Posting your rating...
XM Special 12-Year rum

XM Special 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

5.2/10 (13 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
3
1
2
2

Rate XM Special 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 XM Special 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

Found it on sale for $9.99. Oaky sweet flavor straight and mixed well. Very little after-burn when straight. A pleasant surprise. Went into it with low expectations and this one far exceeded my expectations. A 6.5-7 on my scale, helped in part by the price to taste ratio.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

A 12 year old rum blended and bottled in Guyana by Banks D'Aguiar Industries & Holdings. Complex notes of brown sugar, molasses, aromatic leaf and coffee.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

Dejlig duft. Men den brænder ens smagsløg af. Puha

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

I bought this, after I really liked the XM 7yo. This one is not much better and looses against the El Dorado 12yo, which is even a bit cheaper than this one.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

This was a gift and I was pleasantly surprised. Nice color and aroma. It’s from Guyana. It’s not harsh at all like some other 12 year runs I’ve tried. My metrics for comparison are Facundo Exquisito or Ron Malecon 1979 and this one compares well to them, just slightly less, but a great sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Russ from United States with 72 ratings

Even though El Dorado rums are the most well-known rums from Guyana there are other fine makers from there as well and XM is one of those. This one has a great nose of caramel and oak and the first taste adds dried fruit and a little spice. It's a nice combo of sweet and oaky and the same time that I like. Overall I'm very happy with this one and would definitely buy another bottle in the future.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

I probably won’t pick up another bottle of this. There are many better rims out there for the cost of this bottle. I still drank it though!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

I like the smell and the spiciness. But I do not like the unpleasant and overwhelming harsh alcohol. There are way better and way cheaper rums out there!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

I just assume that any 12-year old rum will be at least reasonably good.
XM Special 12 Years shot that assumption out of the water.
This rum is bitter and harsh.
I don't know that even Coke as a mixer would make it pleasant to drink.
With so many good options out there, why subject yourself to this?

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 95 ratings

Har håb i duften, men smagen er ikke mig. Og der er for meget sprit og agricoliske toner.