Posting your rating...
Coruba Dark rum

Coruba Dark

Jamaica | Dark

6.5/10 (20 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
1
9
5

Rate Coruba Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 Coruba Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

A dark Jamaican rum that is fantastic as a mixer. A great addition to any tiki bar.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off, I admit up front I'm a bit confused...the label says this is an "imported 100% Jamaica rum" and the neck label reads "The Rum Co. of Jamaica" but their website has a New Zealand address and from what I have read online via multiple sources Coruba is a very popular source of rum in New Zealand and it is produced by J. Wray and Nephew. So it's kind of all over the map.

It's color is a dark, rich mahogany and it has a strong yet satisfying aroma. One point needs to be made at this time: according to some online sources, their website says caramel was added for color and flavor however as of the time of this review I do not see that indicated on their website. In fact, I don't see any mention of the Coruba Dark rum anywhere on their website. Could it be that this is a discontinued rum? If it is then it's a shame...but I'm getting ahead of myself.

Rums from Jamaica tend to be fuller in flavor and not sweet. This rum is no exception. It is a rum with character and punch. It is a blended rum that has been aged for a few years in American oak barrels (not sure if charred, toasted, or plain -- or whether bourbon, whisky, rye, or what was initially aged in the barrels). There is evidence initially of molasses in the flavor rapidly overtaken by the oak tannins. So there is a bit of initial sweetness and a little vanilla/toffee undertone but then the oak nature becomes apparent. There is a decent burn with this rum but it does not last. The finish is a bit drier than expected with a little metallic aftertaste.

Definitely not a sipping rum but a very usable mixing rum. Admittedly my current favorite dark rum is Cayman Reef Double Black but that's more of a sweeter/spicier dark rum. This one is more pungent and full-flavor. Both are good mixing rums worth adding to one's rum cabinet. And it's quite inexpensive as well.

9e445578aed1401ad36017a1a4ce9860.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Maximilliano from United States with 5 ratings

Coruba has a longstanding history with Tiki. After Trader Vic used up the world’s supply of the 17-year-old J. Wray & Nephew, he reformulated his Mai Tai recipe with the 15-year-old J. Wray & Nephew and Coruba.

That said, Coruba is one of the best (after Kohala Bay) dark Jamaican mixing rums - that is, in terms of the money and for what you get in terms of a quality, funky, and versatile product who's history goes all the way back to our Tiki forefathers. Coruba is not a rum to be sipped and contemplated; it is solely a mixer where a heavily-bodied and slightly funky dark Jamaican rum is called for.

As a testament to many Tiki historians, rum connoisseurs, bar owners, and mixologists, many will tell you that Coruba is the preemptive dark Jamaican mixing rum. Other popular choices are Myers's dark, and Appleton Estate, although the latter two are considerably more expensive.

NOTE: Coruba is colored for extra depth and sweetness and is heavily charred in small American oak barrels for at least two years before high quality molasses is added to it. In New Zealand, Coruba dark is marketed as 'Coruba Original Blend,' with the proof slightly lower at an odd 37.2%. Coruba is distilled and imported from Jamaica by J. Wray & Nephew, but is not distributed commercially in Jamaica.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum smells of molasses, which is kind of nice, but it's also very dry. Has a fair amount of oakiness to it as well.

Though it's good, I had it alongside a Myers Dark, and I definitely preferred the Myers because the Myers was a little sweeter and had a touch of spice.

But if you prefer dryer rums, you might appreciate this for the money.

5ca2462f9b87f4e482b56b5d8086bdfd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 days ago by blowpez from United States with 9 ratings

An easy drinking spirit that is my go to for recipes that call for a dark rum. It's not as funky as I was expecting/as the reviews make it out to be but the funk is definitely there albeit subtle. I wouldn't label this as a sipping rum but it adds an excellent depth to any tiki cocktail without being too overpowering or sweet. At an extremely affordable price point this should be a definite must for anyones home bar.

B2afe2750d3db1e6c358db15adc87e12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

This stuff is amazing. Dark, rich, and delicious. The best Jamaican run out there.

Ec6b1f7bf2f6ad89552d4ee43d0e75ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Codogg81 from United States with 14 ratings

Molasses molasses molasses! I really do appreciate the unique flavor of this rum. Mixes fantastic with Mexican coke and a lime. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea but it is my favorite dark.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Works in a many cocktails, but outside a mai tai it's a bit behind.

78d1c6255eb17e13070254ea5a6aea39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Rather sharp alcohol taste and lacking some sweetness. A strong oak taste, but no complexity.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

It was time to head to a well stocked rum bar with a list of rums that I wanted to sample before buying. I will start with the worst of five trials, which is this one. I knew in advance that this should not be sipped neat and is only used as a Tiki mixer mainly in New Zealand. My initial response was , "Yuck!" and I could not even finish my half ounce pour. Stick with Meyer's Dark to serve the purpose of this bitter mixer.

052cc4178b0ba2a3683cd7ce3f4edd38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Greg Jackson from United States with 6 ratings

Made for a great rum and coke, bob Marley and other mixed drinks at the all inclusive resort in Jamaica. Good flavor but didn’t drink neat so now sure how that would go.