Posting your rating...
Cayman Reef 5-Year rum

Cayman Reef 5-Year

Caribbean | Gold

6.3/10 (27 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
11
7
3
1

Rate Cayman Reef 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Cayman Reef 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bill from United States with 13 ratings

I was disappointed by this one. The flavor was harsh and not at all like the other Barbados rums I'm used too. Alcohol burn was not a pleasant one. Just ok

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

The flavors from this rum go very well with ginger beer in my opinion just like this brands Double Black Rum. More spice to be had than the licorice of darker rums. I enjoyed the Oak feel particularly with my dark n stormy

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 181 ratings

There are better rums out there, but for the price ($21.99), this was good value. Maybe not great straight, but less of an after-burn than I would have expected and there was a bit of oak flavor. A little better mixed than not.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 162 ratings

Sampled this Cayman Reef 5 yr rum and was pleasantly surprised by the dryness, oakiness and slight sweetness of the rum. Not the best but given its price it is nevertheless a great value.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I also purchased this rum at an ABC store in Florida. Inexpensive and definitely worth the effort of finding a bottle of the 5 year Cayman Reef. A little burn and oaky flavor that is offset somewhat by its delicate sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by cK from Canada with 64 ratings

Too young to be a sipper. Not the best mixer. Very forgettable, especially as it’s priced slightly higher than similar rums.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by iaramphal from United States with 8 ratings

Similar taste to other similarly priced Barbados rums such as mount gay. Probably a good mixer rum. Has a bit of a burn after going down neat, but not too strong

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Aye, this be another sweet rum that the rum snobs will say ain't a rum because it be under 80 proof. To blazes with them! This rum be on par with Bumbu Original at half the price! Vanilla and caramel to be sure, and what tastes like chocolate, but no spices. There be no burn sendin' this down the hatch. If sweet rum not be to your liking, keep some anyway for your friends who are new to rum, the lovely ladies, and prospective crew members... Huzzah!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by PirateKristen from United States with 18 ratings

This is a great rum that's a step above what you'd normally find for a rum at a party. I love it for the value for money. Super easy to put it in anything or intrigue a guest with a corn and oil! :)

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight's Rum, a milestone, number 150, Cayman Reef Rum from Barbados. On the nose, it's got a hint of honey underneath a stronger almond and caramel bouquet. Perhaps even a bit of pepper in there. The first notes in the mouth are soft like the bouquet. It’s rich but not overpowering, chocolate and macadamia nut come through. Not spicy as with some rums. A little bit of orange comes through on the finish. In the throat, it continues with its soft pallet, disappearing as you swallow. Not harsh at all. The true finish does leave a bit spice behind, not overwhelming at all. This is a nice Rum however could use a bit more sweetness and flavor. 7 out of 10. OK served neat.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 148 ratings

Bon pour faire des drink, pas un rhum de dégustation.