Posting your rating...
Cayman Reef 5-Year rum

Rate Cayman Reef 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


22 Cayman Reef 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Sampled this Cayman Reef 5 yr rum and was pleasantly surprised by the dryness, oakiness and slight sweetness of the rum. Not the best but given its price it is nevertheless a great value.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I also purchased this rum at an ABC store in Florida. Inexpensive and definitely worth the effort of finding a bottle of the 5 year Cayman Reef. A little burn and oaky flavor that is offset somewhat by its delicate sweetness.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Bon pour faire des drink, pas un rhum de dégustation.

Posted about 2 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

The flavors from this rum go very well with ginger beer in my opinion just like this brands Double Black Rum. More spice to be had than the licorice of darker rums. I enjoyed the Oak feel particularly with my dark n stormy

Posted 3 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

There are better rums out there, but for the price ($21.99), this was good value. Maybe not great straight, but less of an after-burn than I would have expected and there was a bit of oak flavor. A little better mixed than not.

Posted 9 months ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 24 ratings

This is a smooth, mellow aged rum. Not super sweet when sipped neat. Goes down well when mixed. As always, I enjoy my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

Posted 9 months ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

I just thought I would try it. Not to expensive, but it was a lot better then I thought it would be. I wish I could find it closer to me. It is smooth and full of flavor.

Posted about 1 year ago by Lakeenan from United States with 1 rating

Good color, great taste. Enjoying this rum with a mix of orange juice and kiwi strawberry juice. Excellent taste

Posted over 1 year ago by ND Pirate from United States with 3 ratings

I drink a fair amount of rum and can honestly give this a middle of the road rating. Keeping in mind that I like my rums a little on the strong side, I found this rum to have a slightly weak and watered down feel to it. Unlike many reviews, I thought the price was a little high for this rum. I realize that my region runs a little high on prices, but I know of dozens of other rums at this price that I would choose before shelling out the quid for this.

It may be worth a try, but after I polish mine off, I am done with the brand.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cayman Reef 5y Rum. Bottle and label design look identical to El Dorado equivalent. Golden color. Fair bit of oak and woodiness on the nose and palate. Quite a strong burn at the end. This is a mixer rum by all counts. Whisky lovers can add 2 points.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I have ignored this rum for a very long time thinking that it was all a gimmick. Well today, it stared at me on the shelf like a puppy waiting to be adopted from the shelter. It was as if it was saying, "Please take me home! You know you can afford my $17 price tag!". Being that it has no added sugar as per Barbados law and is a dark 5 year rum at a budget price, I brought this puppy home and am so glad that I did.

What a pleasant surprise! It is natural sweetness with no charred oak taste. It is cheap enough to drink too much without feeling guilty. With no added sugar, this also means no penalties for the next day. I can add this one to my best buy recommendations. In a side by side taste test with other aged budget rums, this one beat out Cockspur 5 Star, Don Q Anejo, and Flor de Cana 5 Year Classico Anejo. I like all four of them, but Cayman Reef is the darkest and best tasting one.

Upon further research, I could find absolutely nothing to prove that it is a 100 percent product of Barbados. I have reason to believe that kegs of Bajan rum were shipped elsewhere to the Caribbean and then bottled with a few additives that are not allowed in Barbados. The shape of the bottle is amazingly similar to El Dorado 8. Maybe these were bottled in Guyana. I seriously doubt that they were bottled in Grand Cayman because there is no way that this low price could come from that very expensive island. The website for Grand Cayman rums also does not show these rums called Cayman Reef. Normally, deceptive origins on rums would cause me to lower my rating by a point. However, this one is so damn good and cheap that I won't do that for this one.

Update March 26, 2019: This bottle was opened up about two months ago with only about two ounces missing. So I tried this "old friend" again on this gorgeous day, and my impression was, "What in hell is this shit?". Since it is considered to be a dry rum, I figured that the flavors would never change. Boy was I wrong! Artificial flavoring is probably to blame for rearing it's ugly head on this one. I lowered my rating from a 7 to a 6 and would think twice about buying this one again. If you do buy a bottle, use it up in one month or less because it is not completely dry.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Arômes de caramel et sucre. Peu raffiné. Un peu sur l’alcool. Bon en drink.

Posted about 2 years ago by Bill from United States with 13 ratings

I was disappointed by this one. The flavor was harsh and not at all like the other Barbados rums I'm used too. Alcohol burn was not a pleasant one. Just ok

Posted over 2 years ago by Charlie from United States with 12 ratings

Not bad for the price if you get it for $25. Otherwise stay clear, there are much better rums out there to try. Ok for mixing, not really smooth enough to drink on ice.

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 36 ratings

This one was one of my experiments but sadly did not quite make it into the pack in my estimation. I'm no connoisseur,but I do drink a fair amount of aged rum. OK but there are many better choices at this price point

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a rich golden colour accompanied by a thin alcohol smell with hints of sweetness and spice (not sure what). Sipping straight was smoother than anticipated and its throat-burn was clean (not harsh). Makes a great Rum and Cola, although it is rather thin and dry (oaky)... without complexity.

Posted about 3 years ago by Nora from United States with 10 ratings

This is a pretty decent rum for a 5 year. Especially for the low price that it is set at. It is rather decent with an ice cube. It also makes a rather good mixing rum. However, for close to the same price you can grab the Spiced Rum from Cayman Reef, which in my opinion is better.

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Good rum, and pleasantly good quality. Run of the mill aged rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

At $20 (ABC Liquors in Florida), it's one of the best rums I've enjoyed at the price. It's a sweeter rum, with an oak flavor component backed by a fairly strong vanilla and caramel flavor. I tried mixing it with Diet Coke, Jupina (pineapple soda), and ginger ale and it was quite nice with all of them. I wouldn't consider this a sipping rum but it's a solid choice for mixing.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Un gout de chêne et de mure. excellent rhum avec le coke. il est très surprenant pour le prix. C est déja ma deuxième bouteille.

Posted about 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Cool name and nice bottle. I give it a six because it is good for a five year rum and the price is right, but honestly I recommend you spend a little more and get a 12 year rum. You won't regret spending the extra money.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

At under $20 a bottle this isn't a bad rum. Not great but not bad either. In this area of Florida it seems it is an exclusive product for ABC Fines Wines & Spirits chain. The label indicates it has its origins in Barbados but other than that there's really not much that can be discovered about this rum. The flavor has some sweetness to it as well as hints of vanilla and toffee. I seem to detect some woodiness to it so it may be aged in wood barrels of some sort (oak?). Seems a bit dry and has a bit to it. This would probably appeal to bourbon drinkers. It's pretty good but not great. Works well as a mixer.