Posting your rating...
Cayman Reef 5-Year rum

Cayman Reef 5-Year

Caribbean | Gold

6.4/10
30 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
12
9
3
1

Rate Cayman Reef 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

30 Cayman Reef 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

At $20 (ABC Liquors in Florida), it's one of the best rums I've enjoyed at the price. It's a sweeter rum, with an oak flavor component backed by a fairly strong vanilla and caramel flavor. I tried mixing it with Diet Coke, Jupina (pineapple soda), and ginger ale and it was quite nice with all of them. I wouldn't consider this a sipping rum but it's a solid choice for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 67 ratings

Aye, this be another sweet rum that the rum snobs will say ain't a rum because it be under 80 proof. To blazes with them! This rum be on par with Bumbu Original at half the price! Vanilla and caramel to be sure, and what tastes like chocolate, but no spices. There be no burn sendin' this down the hatch. If sweet rum not be to your liking, keep some anyway for your friends who are new to rum, the lovely ladies, and prospective crew members... Huzzah!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight's Rum, a milestone, number 150, Cayman Reef Rum from Barbados. On the nose, it's got a hint of honey underneath a stronger almond and caramel bouquet. Perhaps even a bit of pepper in there. The first notes in the mouth are soft like the bouquet. It’s rich but not overpowering, chocolate and macadamia nut come through. Not spicy as with some rums. A little bit of orange comes through on the finish. In the throat, it continues with its soft pallet, disappearing as you swallow. Not harsh at all. The true finish does leave a bit spice behind, not overwhelming at all. This is a nice Rum however could use a bit more sweetness and flavor. 7 out of 10. OK served neat.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

The flavors from this rum go very well with ginger beer in my opinion just like this brands Double Black Rum. More spice to be had than the licorice of darker rums. I enjoyed the Oak feel particularly with my dark n stormy

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

There are better rums out there, but for the price ($21.99), this was good value. Maybe not great straight, but less of an after-burn than I would have expected and there was a bit of oak flavor. A little better mixed than not.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 184 ratings

Sampled this Cayman Reef 5 yr rum and was pleasantly surprised by the dryness, oakiness and slight sweetness of the rum. Not the best but given its price it is nevertheless a great value.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I also purchased this rum at an ABC store in Florida. Inexpensive and definitely worth the effort of finding a bottle of the 5 year Cayman Reef. A little burn and oaky flavor that is offset somewhat by its delicate sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 92 ratings

Smooth island rum without the cost. Hints of lime, and a lack of oak make this a very smooth finishing summer drink. Since the cost is inexpensive, that helps even more. It doesn't have the complex flavours of the top shelf rums obviously.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Don from Canada with 153 ratings

For only a 5 year rum of Barbados it shows quality and good balance. Deep amber in colour, Cayman Reef is warm on the first sip, and then a delicate sweetness builds, with vanilla and nutty flavours. Five years in barrel contributes some spicy and woody notes. Can be sipped but mixed drinks are great. 41$Can at LCBO.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by George from Canada with 31 ratings

Overall not a bad rum. I found it a little on the side for my taste but better than the average main stream garbage rums out there. It has a smooth finish’ amd notes of oak in there . Would be interesting to try the older version of this .

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by cK from Canada with 65 ratings

Too young to be a sipper. Not the best mixer. Very forgettable, especially as it’s priced slightly higher than similar rums.