Posting your rating...
Cayman Reef Double Black rum

Rate Cayman Reef Double Black

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Cayman Reef Double Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

According to the label this rum is "hand-crafted in double-charred oak barrels to achieve a rich bold flavor". This is by far the darkest rum I have personally encountered. There is no indication of how long it was in the oak barrels. It has a very nice aroma from the bottle and the flavor is sweet with some nice spices (I cannot specify). It is fairly smooth but really not a sipping rum. Definitely a mixer. I love it in Coke Zeros. I would imagine it would be excellent in drinks calling for a dark rum.

9a254af7c99ea4f594a2aa07ce4485d9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

This rum has an intense nice flavor. In terms of dark rum I put it way ahead of Cruzan black strap. This is reminiscent of licorice and just has a nice bold flavor entering and leaving.

47a41333812d487efa9175b357d09636.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I much prefer this as a mixing rum. As a sipping rum, it definitely falls short, but in a cocktail or even a basic rum and coke, it's quite delicious. Get this one for a high-quality mixer.

C867bf65b5a3bad9ccc6939f9ba1beb1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by synchtw from United States with 13 ratings

Feels like you could cut it with a knife. Thick and weighty and strong, but delicious!

571cde146e0aeea3ce0e615f16045821.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 24 ratings

This is a smooth, husky dark rum. Its simple flavor isn't crowded with a bunch of extra flavors...so, it finishes well. As always, I enjoy my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

Since I was quite impressed with a fairly recent purchase of their 5 Year, I was dying to get my hands on this one as well as their Spiced. The unmistakable aroma of root beer overwhelms! The taste is also of root beer! It is very smooth going down the pipe because root beer is supposed to be that way! I have lost a lot of respect for this company and their Spiced rum did little to change my mind. So this one must be double aged in root beer barrels. This one states that it is from the West Indies, unlike their 5 Year and Spiced which specifically state that they are from Barbados. These are NOT Bajan rums!

Somehow through all of this deception, I still cannot rate it lower than a 4 because it still tastes better than the mass produced dreck that is out there.

7b8c54d27ebf8827e17f7d37051737da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This a great tasting dark rum. I agree with some of the other reviews it is not a sipping rum but I love the flavours that explode when mixed. Even more so than on its own. I’m so glad I discovered this little gem. Don’t hesitate spending $15-$25 on a bottle.

89858af7619c9e65f480b8eda321856e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by DG from United States with 11 ratings

Not a spiced rum--just aged in double charred oak barrels. It's difficult to pick out any particular flavors. I want my rum for sipping neat and this one's got the minimum qualities.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Nice tasting rum coming out through the aging in the charred barrels. Semi sweet with some spicy notes to complement each other. I have tried this rum neat and find it has a distinct flavor that is somewhat enjoyable, especially for the reasonable price tag. I am sure that the double black would do well in cocktails as well.

D66e494f55d2bdd05d73134795673019.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Charlie from United States with 12 ratings

This rum is basically the same as the other caymans but, this ones a bit stronger and much darker. It was a steal at $15, I would consider buying at $20. Good for mixing with cola or (my favorite) a slurpee from 7/11.