Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Cuba | Aged

7.0/10
75 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
20
21
19
6
2

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

75 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 57 ratings

Notes of caramel, vanilla, fruits. Smooth. Tastes a bit better than Cubaney Centenario.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

The dark colour eludes to strong flavour and to start with it is quite harsh with overpowering bitter burnt wood flavours that fade fast. Left to stand for a few minutes on ice opens up the subtle flavours a bit more going from raisin to caramel keeping a slight woody after taste. It ends smooth with caramel and wood. It doesn't start well, but ends very smooth with complex flavours that need coaxing out. One I would look for again.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Nice scent of oak, chocolate and fruit. The taste more boring, alcohol and some spices and a little vanilla at the end

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

The rum has full body with stronger alcoholic accent. Brandier one. A touch of raisins.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Filip from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

The best brand of rum from Cuba. Sharp not sweet but still really nice.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 5 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

I’m very fortunate to be on my back porch on a beautiful spring Friday evening. So let the rum tasing continue to Cuba. Trying Santiago 20 last month being exceptional I find this 12 years old brother holding it’s own. This is a solid Cuban rum at 40%. I like it a lot, slight caramel scent on the nose first sip exceptionally smooth with little heat till swallowed. All in all this is a very solid rum against any other. I’m good for solid 8- 8.5. Enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by fg67 from France with 26 ratings

7/10 c'est la meilleur note que je peut donner à ce rhum.
On peut trouver meilleur rhum au même prix.

Small e8351995 ea1b 4008 ba5d 23353d54b5a5

Posted 9 days ago by Vincent from Australia with 21 ratings

Wonderful dark rum with an upfront attitude that settles down once it has had some time to breathe.

Small img 20200507 203656

Posted 19 days ago by L83y from Hungary with 9 ratings

Első kóstolásra nem igazán szerettem!
De a második alkalom teljesen más volt, finom édes viszont van az édesség mögött egy kis fanyarság ami nagyon jól áll neki.
Egyszerűen szeretem.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Brian from Australia with 27 ratings

The rum is not bad for sipping but it’s fantastic in an old Cuban cocktail. I had used Havana club in a earlier one I made, but this rum is much better.