Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


67 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Olejnata zajimava chut, je vonavy, vic nedokazu rict

Posted about 3 years ago by Filip from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

The best brand of rum from Cuba. Sharp not sweet but still really nice.

Posted about 3 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?

Posted 5 days ago by Walt from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

I drank this every day for 2 weeks in Cuba. As soon as I got home I bought a bottle and keep one on the go. Love the smokey rich taste and mellow after taste.

Posted 4 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 52 ratings

Got the pair of 12yo plus 11yo from friend of mine. Tasting them both at the time.
The differenses are subtle, still noticible. 11yo more fruity, 12yo stronger smoky or smoky. Aftertaste feels longer for 12yo. 11 is smother and sweetier.
The similarities are obvious: both are amazing, fantastic.

Viva Cuba! Rating them both 10.

Perfect warming drink after cold Canadian day (too bad I did not order the cigar)

Posted 6 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

The dark colour eludes to strong flavour and to start with it is quite harsh with overpowering bitter burnt wood flavours that fade fast. Left to stand for a few minutes on ice opens up the subtle flavours a bit more going from raisin to caramel keeping a slight woody after taste. It ends smooth with caramel and wood. It doesn't start well, but ends very smooth with complex flavours that need coaxing out. One I would look for again.

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

Smooth and flavorful, not dry but not overly sweet. Great example of what the "taste" of a Cuban Style Rum is.

Posted 10 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Hned po otevření, první zklamání, v této cenové kategorii po otevření není korkový špunt. Očekávání dolů. Po ochutnání, noooo, chuť vcelku dobrá, není přislazováno, ale zároveň postrádá něco extra - vůni, chuťový dozvuk - navíc. Velmi dobrá 6 nebo slabší 7, po opakovaném pití se kloním k dobré 6.

Posted 12 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I liked it a lot as a mixer. It’s not going to win any awards but for whatever reason it makes a damn fine rum and coke with mexican coke

Posted 12 months ago by Pete034 from Australia with 20 ratings

Rich and dark with a nice smooth flavour. Worth the money

Posted about 1 year ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

L’11 è decisamente superiore ma anche questo si lascia bere

Posted about 1 year ago by Matija from Slovenia with 16 ratings

Great smell, nice color, great aroma but very poor finish. Almost none... great for cakes and pastery...:)

Posted about 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

this was a surprise find, as most peiple wanted Havana Club or the 25 year Rin Santiago. We found this extra añejo smooth, quite aromatic and hit the spot for us and the price/quality was the best part of all

Posted about 1 year ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

Enjoyed this on the beaches Of Cuba from the ‘Meliá Las Antilles” top shelf rum selections. It pleasantly did the trick for holidays - but not sure it’s something I would stock at home. A very sweet profile with mahogany and cinnamon spices finishing the flavors. Mix with cola.

Posted over 1 year ago by Belkodil from Netherlands with 10 ratings

It tastes more like a vegatable distillate i.e. made from beetroot sugar and not cane sugar. No caramel taste at all, no cask taste, strange that it has dark color.
It is unusual but not bad at all.

Posted over 1 year ago by Zoomer from Canada with 5 ratings

Have had both the 12 year and 11 year rum. The 11 year definitely rates higher, which I found strange as it beat a 12 year rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Nice scent of oak, chocolate and fruit. The taste more boring, alcohol and some spices and a little vanilla at the end

Posted over 1 year ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

Neither too smooth, nor too taste. Just a decent rum. 11 is a way better!

Posted over 1 year ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

The rum has full body with stronger alcoholic accent. Brandier one. A touch of raisins.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael from Switzerland with 14 ratings

very underrated this Rum. Very nice for this Price!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Výborný kubánský rum s jemnou chutí a dubovým nádechem

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at the Santiago de Cuba stall at Cardiff Rum Festival.

I would be inclined to rate this 12 year old an 8 but at £60+ a bottle its got to be a 7. The El Dorado 12 is much more affordable and better in my opinion.

It's a good sipper nonetheless and definitely worth trying if you get the opportunity. It's rich, fruity and sweet on the nose. With a fruity flavour, with touches of caramel and nuts.

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Offers quite a bite, could not remember much else.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Santiago de Cuba 25y while vacationing in Brussels. Semi dark color. High end bottle with a nice old fashioned label design. Very flavorful smell test. Nutty and so smooth on the taste test. Tiny amount of burn due to no added sugar but very mellow and pleasant experience. Taste lingers long afterwards when the burn has already dissipated. Definitely worth the 8 score.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Didn't think i would enjoy this as i was really underwhelmed by the Anejo , but it was a big improvement. darker in the bottle than in the glass . pours a nice amber colour .Unfortunately the only smell i could detect was from what i guess was added caramel colouring ? That said it was a nice light , dry and crisp type of rum. Not a sipper for me but another very good high quality mixer.




#