Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Cuba | Aged

6.9/10
71 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
20
20
16
6
2

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

71 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pavelitti from Switzerland with 42 ratings

Tipico rum cubano ma con molta delicatezza in più. Molto ben fatto i sapori si amalgamano perfettamente. Va giù che è una bellezza. Ne troppo dolce ne dry, una via di mezzo perfetta. Si abbina perfettamente con un buon sigaro.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mankri from Hungary with 33 ratings

Nothing really special, there are several better ones with 12 ys age or even younger

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tony from Canada with 23 ratings

This was the go to, from the bartender in Cuba when I asked for the best premium he had available. We then got into a discussion about the offerings from Nicaragua, Venezuela and Barbados. Though he is Cuban, he was quite educated on other world rum offerings, but stood by the Santiago de Cuba.
I found it to be more alcohol than flavour, with a barely notable barrel, brandy and Tia Maria flavours.
Of course, once I found the Havana Club Seleccion de Maestros, it was end of story.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by marion from Belgium with 22 ratings

Smooth with good burn
Nice after taste
So overall not bad

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pierrot from Canada with 23 ratings

J'ai acheté quelques unes de ces bouteilles en juillet 2004 ainsi que des Habana Club 18 ans.

Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un assemblage de vieux rhum allant jusqu'à 20 ans d'âge. Cet excellent rhum n'est pas un Habana Club mais pour la différence de prix, il était possible de lui pardonner.

Coûtait 60USD par rapport au Habana Club 18 ans à 85 ou 90USD.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Adrian Pybus from Sweden with 10 ratings

Despite it being only 40% the alcohol is very present. It's quite easy to drink though but not quite worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Je suis un peu assomé des ratings ici ...

Une belle et bonne bouteille à avoir en tout temps dans son armoire.

Compense amplement son manque certain de complexité par des saveur bien définie de vanille, de noisette et de café

Tranchant en bouche, descente soutenue et soyeuse... Défintivement à apprécier ( sans glace ... Jamais de glace ... Jamais jamais de glace ... Jamais ;) après un bon steak sur le grill !

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement.............................

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

a nice,easy to drink Cuban,but without telling me to buy it again. Good price and light,i can immagine it in cocktail, but it's nice to enjoy it neat

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

oder posjjka dnsoID MDKDFIDJKKDMD;pkmm kjdudanvi mmijd