Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Cuba | Aged

6.9/10
71 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
20
20
16
6
2

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

71 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

a very good Ron for his Age. Smooth & sweet taste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

It's got oak. It's got a touch of smoke. Just a little sweet at the start. It also has a touch of bitterness at the finish, which is long. I can see this paired with a nice cigar. This feels like what other Cubans I've tasted should try to come closer to.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alex from United States with 2 ratings

My introduction to aged rum after a trip to Havana. Smooth with a strong licorice backbone. Goes great with cigars. Love this stuff, wish I had bought more. Far superior to the Havana Club 7 year, not even a comparison.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Olejnata zajimava chut, je vonavy, vic nedokazu rict

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Romo from Slovakia with 29 ratings

Better version of Santiago de Cuba rum but not the best choice

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

en boca caramelo quedado cuero y vainilla en nariz dulce de leche color ambariño de final fuerte

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I like this rum, buts blind taste against other similarly priced rum then it would not come out on top. Good not great

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 16 ratings

Medium taste
Not smooth for a 12 year old one bottle

Small profile 1

Posted 4 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

Funny to define this one, I've been sipping for a while and no real distinct flavours jump out at me. Definitely a sweet floral nose, then initial hazelnut taste with a little short spicy kick. Interesting how it finishes very dry, I'm guessing whisky lovers would like this, but not my personal favorite

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

De lo mejor que probado De Santiago de Cuba, ron balanceado, dulce y sin tanto sabor a madera como el 11 años