Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Cuba | Aged

6.9/10
71 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
20
20
16
6
2

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

71 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Zoomer from Canada with 5 ratings

Have had both the 12 year and 11 year rum. The 11 year definitely rates higher, which I found strange as it beat a 12 year rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 26 ratings

Neither too smooth, nor too taste. Just a decent rum. 11 is a way better!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael from Switzerland with 14 ratings

very underrated this Rum. Very nice for this Price!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Výborný kubánský rum s jemnou chutí a dubovým nádechem

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at the Santiago de Cuba stall at Cardiff Rum Festival.

I would be inclined to rate this 12 year old an 8 but at £60+ a bottle its got to be a 7. The El Dorado 12 is much more affordable and better in my opinion.

It's a good sipper nonetheless and definitely worth trying if you get the opportunity. It's rich, fruity and sweet on the nose. With a fruity flavour, with touches of caramel and nuts.

Small download

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 264 ratings

Offers quite a bite, could not remember much else.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Santiago de Cuba 25y while vacationing in Brussels. Semi dark color. High end bottle with a nice old fashioned label design. Very flavorful smell test. Nutty and so smooth on the taste test. Tiny amount of burn due to no added sugar but very mellow and pleasant experience. Taste lingers long afterwards when the burn has already dissipated. Definitely worth the 8 score.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 216 ratings

Didn't think i would enjoy this as i was really underwhelmed by the Anejo , but it was a big improvement. darker in the bottle than in the glass . pours a nice amber colour .Unfortunately the only smell i could detect was from what i guess was added caramel colouring ? That said it was a nice light , dry and crisp type of rum. Not a sipper for me but another very good high quality mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tim from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Best lekker, maar voor 12 jaar had ik er meer van verwacht

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

Nez et goût organique (cuir, médicinal), légé au nez mais puissant qu goût. court en bouche