Posting your rating...
Rum Fire Velvet rum

Rum Fire Velvet

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (10 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
4

Rate Rum Fire Velvet

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 Rum Fire Velvet ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by clochardo from Belgium with 64 ratings

J'au eu l'occasion de gouté bcp de rhum vieux provenant de Hampden et je n'ai jamais été déçu du résultat. Tous découlent de cette base et quel base!!! Incroyablement puissant et rond sur le végétal et la douceur de la canne à sucre avec ce coté trop mur intense. Moins complexe que le rhum bar mais se marie bien mieux avec du ginger beer et du coca.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 84 ratings

...first time putting my nose and taking a sniff it burnt my nostrils clear,...hard but fruity...quite funky.

The taste is burning at first but styles quick with a fruity bomb...many write blueberry, that should fit

It smells a lot better than W&N, yet the tastes are in my opinion not comparable even though they are % whise in the same league.

Both are nice and enjoyable whites.

Solid 8.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 17 ratings

There are certainly white Jamaican overproof rums with higher aroma intensity - and ester density, but this one isn't bad at all and very affordable in comparison. I use it for a Planter's punch, together with some aged Jamaican rum, lemon juice, orange juice, grenadine syrup and angostura bitters. The resulting cocktail has an intriguing grapefruit-like aroma.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

Obviously with the percentage this is not meant to be shipped but is a Jamaican cocktail influence that is amazing .... Very versatile but never lets you forget about it ..

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 62 ratings

Hampden estate jamaican pot still unaged white overproof, bottled at 63%, ester content of over 500 ppm while wray&nephew has somewhere between 100-200 ppm, so the "hogo" should be quite brutal.
Nose: toasted sugar, very strong funk and fruit aromas, blueberry most strongly, not so "rotten" as wray&nephew, quite lots of brine, subtle smoke and star anise aroma.
Taste: Huge punch of funky fruit and brine, very smoky. The fruit flavor is mostly reminescent of blueberry as other reviewer pointed out but i personally find it very enjoyable.
Finish: exceptionally smooth when compared to wray&nephew which has a brutal kick. Finishes on a dry briny palatte.
Overall: Best white overproof i have yet tasted, i personally prefer this to w&n but they are quite different, w&n has huge rotten tropical fruit taste with a brutal kick and this rum has more of a fresh blueberry forward fruit flavour without so much rotten or fermented fruit taste. Also this rum has quite big brine and smoke flavours which w&n doesnt have.
They are quite more difficult to compare than i thought since they are quite different but this rum is slightly more pleasant for me since it is so smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 92 ratings

Kräftiger Rum, auch im Geschmack
Leicht süss mit viel Fruchtigkeit.
Hat etwas von Obstbrand.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

But, it's a really hot rum, as the name suggests. A mixer, not a sipper. If you want a sipping version of this rum style, Plantation Jamaica 2001 and 2002 appears to also be from Hampden.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

There is no hiding this is a potent rum. But it has a nice finish which I can appreciate.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

Min første oplevelse med hvid rom.
Frisk frugt agtig smag. Kort eftersmag. En kraftig rom, som dog hurtigt får ende.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Nu stiu cine ar putea sa bea asa ceva, e foarte nasol. Nu recomand.