Posting your rating...
Rum-Bar Gold rum

Rate Rum-Bar Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Rum-Bar Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by NickW. from Germany with 17 ratings

It's like sitting on a Jamaican beach at night with a big fire, a lot of flavours, it's strong and well rounded.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed two glasses of Worthy Park Rum-Bar Gold rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design looks pretty dull and low end. Extremely strong glue and funk straight to your nose and palate. Super strong burn at the end. Even mixing this, you get the funk shining through.

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Expecting jamaican pungency, I'm surprised to stick my nose in the glass and find a very light, gentle character with notes of sweet baked banana, melting dark chocolate and buttered popcorn. Sipping reveals a very light, almost thin rum with subtle hints of banana and wood, finishing with just a hint of that fermented jamaican fingerprint. I find it kinda watery, but in fact it seems harmonious with the light character.

Posted over 1 year ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

I've tried the Overproof from Worthy Park and now the Gold. Neither are very refined or noteworthy. The Gold has the same undercurrent of flavor as the Overproof. That's not a good thing. Four years of age has smoothed many of the prickly features of the unaged spirit, but it could get still another 20 years of age and still suffer from many of the same flaws.

The taste is acceptable as a mixer. As a sipper, it's rough. There's a lot of cask influence here but the sharp bite and vegetal harshness, also found in the Rum Bar Overproof, never leaves.

This was found for $10 on Jamaica. I consider it to be a good value at $10. In the US, it goes for $25-$33. At that price you're wasting your money.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Let it be known, that I am not a fan of the Jamaican style of rum, but even for a Jamaican rum this is not good and should have gotten a few more years in the barrel before hitting the bottle.

Nose: Hefty smell of green bananas and cooked apples
Palate: A big hit of green bananas with a fruity aftertaste. Slight burn. Short finish.
Overall: I might be a little harsh on this one, but I tasted it with people who are into Jamaican rum, and they did not have much positive to say about it. The less said on my end the better.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Very light colour.
Weak smell.
Bad taste.
Ok aftertaste.
;-)

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Helles Honiggelb im Glas.
In der Nase, Düfte wie frische Früchte mit Käsekuchen auf einem frisch lackiertem Holzteller.
Im Gaumen, reife weisse Trauben, Karamell und Vanille begleitet von einer scharfen Alkohol Note.
Im Abgang, süsse Früchte die in Lösungsmittel eingelegt sind.
Ein funky Jamaika Rum der durchaus noch ein paar Jahre im Fass bleiben könnte.
Für Entdecker und Experimentierfreudige.

Bright honey yellow in the glass.
On the nose, smells like fresh fruits with cheesecake on a freshly painted wooden plate.
On the palate, ripe white grapes, caramel and vanilla accompanied by a sharp alcoholic touch.
In the finish, sweet fruits that are soaked in solvent.
A funky Jamaican rum that could stay in the barrel for a few more years.
For explorers and experimenters.

Posted over 2 years ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Liquer style of white rum, strong banana taste with medium lenghts.

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

Nose: Banana.
Palate: pretty dry, almost harsh, some hints of beer (?) and maybe some hints of oak. At least it gives a warm feeling 😉 one extra point for that.

Posted over 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Intense fruity aroma.
Taste is also friuty with bananas dominating accompanied with cask tones.
Very smooth and round when sipped, but it should be great mixer too.

Posted over 2 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Lucka 20 i romkalendern 2017, betyget sammanfattar allt.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

Voldsom duft af frugt. Smagen er dig ikke nær så frugtig. Faktisk er smagen kedelig og kort.

Posted over 2 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Jemná vůně trochu po banánech, možná s kapkou jablek. Velmi slabě nažloutlá barva, v první chvíli to ve špatném světle vypadalo jako bílý rum.Chuť poměrně mdlá a nevýrazná, s neurčitou stopou ovoce. Ale aspoň nepálí, nekope, neškrábe. Do koktejlu ok, samotné radši ne :)

Posted over 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 119 ratings

Jeg har svært ved at finde noget positivt om denne rom. Muligvis bedre som mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Jeg bliver bare ikke gode venner med Rum-bar. Deres overproof er udrikkelig, og gold er kun en smule bedre. Kraftig duft og smag af banan, men ikke på den gode måde. Sprittet, men overdøves af banan. Hvis jeg drak mere end de 2 cl, er jeg bange for, det ville komme op igen. Er måske god i en cola. Den 20. December i romkalenderen 2017.

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from Denmark with 47 ratings

Not the best start when it first hit the nose, also a bit bitter when it first hit the tounge, but the finish and after taste is a lot better.

Posted over 2 years ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 87 ratings

Fruktig och ekig doft. Vanilj och frukt i smak även ek. Lite lakrits. Inte så söt lite pepprig. Ok.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chriswx from Greece with 22 ratings

Great choise. Pure tasty rum!!
✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Looking at the bottle/label, I thought that Worthy Park might deliver something quite good. Boy was I wrong!

Very light in colour (much lighter than the picture here). Not gold at all, more pale straw. The nose is a cheap, mass produced and frankly hugely unappealing. So much so that I questioned whether I actually wanted to try it.

The body was better, but not by a lot. Lacks weight, sophistication, fruit, oak, appeal and anything noteworthy. It's saving grace is that it was quite smooth (as there was no body to it).

I don't like mixed drinks, but suspect that this is one for mixing.

A very poor rum. That the 3 previous ratings gave it 7s and 8s leads me to question whether I had a bad bottle.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Claudio from Italy with 30 ratings

This rum is 100% pot still from molasses, aged for 4 years in american whiskey barrels.
I got the previous "Worthy Park Gold" bottling, but the rum is the same.
Great in punches, fruit cocktails and tiki.
It's very interesting to sip neat, because it reminds more a Highland Scotch than a classical aged rum.
4 (real) years are an optimal age because with a longer barrel time we will lose the unique taste and aromas from Jamaica.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

For the price I was expecting this to be purely a mixer. However the 4 years aging did ther job. Its perfectly fine to sip on its own and be enjoyable. It can't beat sippers in the much higher price range, but its a good experiece. Will be seeking out more Worthy Park Estate rums!

Posted over 3 years ago by Henrik from Denmark with 53 ratings

Nose: dirt, tar and toffee
Palet: grapes, candyfloss with a oily feel and a medium fresh burn

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum.
i´ve tried this rum in berlin directly from alexander kong from worthy park. great guy, great rum.
typical jamaica notes. fruit. pepper. creamy, mild. i made it very warm in my hand, so do this too, if you want the real taste! ;)
if i understood it right, they will relaunch it under worthy park label.