Posting your rating...
Clement Premiere Canne rum

Clement Premiere Canne

Martinique | Agricole

7.7/10 (18 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
11
3

Rate Clement Premiere Canne

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Clement Premiere Canne ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I drank this side by side with the Clement Canne Bleue. This is a lighter (40%) version of that (50%).

As a result, I actually expected to like that more. But this is surprisingly better, imho.

This just seems to have a little more of an agricole flavor. Smells and tastes of sugar cane, a peppery spice, and wet stone (in a good way).

The only reason I didn't rate it higher is because I don't like agricole's nearly as much as traditional aged rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

Only problem is I dont know where to find it anymore. Excellent Ti'-punch, neat or caipirinha even?

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by OldPat from Belgium with 7 ratings

If I had to choose one white rum, this would probably be the one. However, please do not compare this rating with a 09/10 that I or someone else could grant to an XO rum! Different worlds, different comparisons.

NB: I am not a specialist. It just happens that I like rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

One of the first things I do when opening a bottle of rum is to sniff the aroma. When I did that with this bottle I immediately noticed it had an aroma unlike anything I had encountered thus was in my samplings. And at the time of this writing I've sampled over 150 rums. I really couldn't put my finger on it at first but after letting it linger in my brain it finally dawned on me...this is an aroma I encountered in my childhood.

Let me explain...

When I was a youth, my Dad took my brother and me to the property of someone whom he knew who made ribbon cane syrup the old-fashioned way...grinding the cane with a mule-driven, stone-wheel squeezer and cooked down outdoors in a large rectangular flat pan fueled with fire from oak wood. The sugar cane juice would be boiled down into a syrup which has a unique flavor.

This rum has a similar smell albeit far from being as strong as the ribbon cane syrup. The flavor bears that out. The sugar cane is quite evidence in this rum's flavor profile and has a nice, mild sweetness to it. Surprisingly smooth for a white/silver rum. I can see some folks might well like this as a sipping rum but I think it is best suited for cocktails. I look forward trying it in Coke Zero (when I do, I will try to remember to add my thoughts about it to this review).

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 51 ratings

So this is my first experience with a true unaged Martinique Agricole. If you aren't familiar with Agricole Rum, let me stop you right here: This is altogether a vastly different experience from any other rum I have ever had thus far. It is almost in its own spirit category entirely.

Taking it in aromatically the notes are crisp and present: fresh pressed sugar cane juice, lemon, grapefruit, and green olive martini. The fresh sugarcane is dominant but not oppressive. Smelling it from the bottle the green olive was very noticeable. However, smelling it from the snifter the aromas of the sugar cane are crisp clean and assertive, with notes of lemon, grapefruit, and a green olive vodka martini.

On the palate, you get a crisp, refreshing mix of lemon, fresh cut green hay grass, peppermint, black pepper, and a taste that reminds me of the faint smell of volcanic soil. These flavors are very present and synchronize beautifully while remaining clearly distinguishable on their own.

The aftertaste is where this rum really sets itself apart and is unique among all rums I have ever tasted. The aftertaste starts with white grapefruit and then sprinkles in fresh ground black pepper before leaving a sensation in my mouth like that of peppermint gum. After a while that fades and leaves you with a pleasant memory of fresh cut grass in the springtime.

This is a vastly different experience from any other type of rum I have ever had but I like it. It is crisp and refreshing while simultaneously subtle. It evokes a nostalgia for sitting on the lawn in the evening summertime after the grass has been mowed.

Nose: 8
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 9
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 9
Price: 9

Total: 8.6

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Grassy and delicious. Hint of sweetness. Highly drinkable at 40%, though I wish it were stronger. This is a better Batiste.

I'm torn between giving this a 7 or an 8... I'll round up for now :)

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Citrus and sugar cane in the nose. Citrus and something I cannot define in the mouth. Reminds me vaguely of Absinthe. The whole thing very volatile - there is not much aftertaste. Probably better even in mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Crisp, on the dry side, that offers a potpourri of tropical fruit, pepper, wood, grass and other earthy notes. Made exclusively of cane juice which is a predominant characteristic of Agricole rhums, this one is ideal as a mixer or enjoyed straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

True Rhum Agricole, from the smell to the taste, the sugar cane is very present.
Very smooth for a white rum, really good to drink neat, but can really imagine just perfect in ti punch.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Much softer and more mellow than Canne Bleue, but still a distinctly smooth Martinique agricole, worthy of the best 'Ti punch.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Le nez est frais et dominé par le citron et la canne fraiche. On retrouve les mêmes sensations en bouche mais ça manque cruellement d’attaque et les saveurs restent trop en retrait. C’est plutôt un bon rhum, mais qui reste trop discret en bouche, dommage. à réserver peu être aux cocktails…