Posting your rating...
Opthimus Port Finish 25-Year rum

Opthimus Port Finish 25-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

9.1/10
30 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
22
5

Rate Opthimus Port Finish 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

30 Opthimus Port Finish 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

Well I was in LA LA land with the Opthimus 25 year Whiskey finish, probably my favorite rum currently, great bang for your buck. I could not wait to buy the Oporto finish. Well it is good but not nearly as good as the Whiskey finish. However, after sitting a bit it took over the Whiskeys standing.
A bit sweet but not overwhelming. You can taste the Port and it has a long finish which is really important to me being the Rum Snob I claim to wanna be. Bang for your buck at $100ish it is worth the money spent. Get U some uh DAT!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 17 GPL. I was saving this rum for my 100th rating review and it is a winner for sure! The taste profile is somewhere between the Diplomatico Single Vintage 2000 and the Rum Nation Panama 21. The major difference is that this rum is not as sweet as the other 2 rums mentioned. The effect of aging in the port cask with this rum is that it has a trace of cherry to it in the aroma and the taste. It has a nice long after burn. If you like Port and Rum then this is a must have rum. Looking forward to finding and tasting the other 25 year old blends put out by Opthimus.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

This is very very good! The aftertaste of port is remarkable, and comes forward a lot more than its the case for the 15 y version. Which really suits it! Still sweet, but has a lot more character.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rums-of-the-World from United States with 8 ratings

I'm thrilled that I have a chance to review Opthimus 25 Oporto by @opthimusrum_usa . In the glass it has a deep, dark rust color and thick sticky legs that coat the glass. The nose is full of deep scents of tobacco, leather, wood and a hint of grapes. There is no sense of astringency. This rum is thick and coats the tongue, while tickling the #umami flavor receptors and skipping over the sweet, salty, and sour receptors. At first I sense some burnt caramel and wood. After swallowing, the long finish pops with hints of port wine and leather. There is no heat on the way down, but the flavor lasts until the next dram. A wonderful rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Michael N from United States with 72 ratings

After trying Opthimus 25 year and rating it a well deserved 10 I decided to try another offering from Oliver. Side by side they are very close. Both have excellent aromas, both are smooth, sweet, and flavorful. I don’t think the port finish does anything that makes this worth the extra price. I thoroughly enjoyed the regular 25 year and still rate it above this one and like it better. But make no mistake, this is truly a remarkable rum. Everyone should have a try.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 28 ratings

Out of everything I have tried, nothing could top this Opthimus. So much aroma, flavor, smoothness with a nice port finish. The label does not lie. It was everything I had hoped it was.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Simon from Switzerland with 9 ratings

The taste of Porto is definitely prominent. Exquisite rum for sipping.

It's missing a little bit of character to reach a 10.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 131 ratings

:-)
Beautiful bottle.
Nice dark colour.
Great smell.
Fantastic taste.
For ever long eftertaste.
;-)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Super Nice rum White a hint Of port.... easy to drink.... 1000% not the last time ill be drinking This rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 88 ratings

Beautiful Mahagoni color
Bouquet hints of coffee and alcohol
Taste hazelnut, coffee, toffee and oak
Longlasting and really nice
A Rum of its own league, superb
2017 Bottle 57/1000